Opinions

Pages

Displaying 1 - 10 of 2302
W toku (updated on 26/11/2020)
Sygnatura: 
SOC/643-EESC-2020
Sesja plenarna: 
556 -
Dec 02, 2020 Dec 03, 2020

Through this opinion, requested by the German Presidency of the Council, the EESC recognises the essential role of smoothly functioning public services in defending core EU values. The opinion highlights their particular role in times of crisis, like COVID-19, which calls for the maximum human and financial support. The EESC proposes common European principles to support the role of public services in defence of democracy. They include the principles of neutrality, legality, proportionality, equal treatment and transparency; the right to good administration; independent oversight; the protection of public services staff against decisions breaching the rule of law; accessibility; interoperability; and the respect of the rule of law including when receiving EU funds.

Opinia Sekcji: Principles for public services (i.e. public services for citizens, public administration) that contribute directly to the stability of the free democratic basic order (democracy and the rule of law) in EU countries (Exploratory opinion at the reques

W toku (updated on 26/11/2020)
Sygnatura: 
SOC/638-EESC-2020
Sesja plenarna: 
556 -
Dec 02, 2020 Dec 03, 2020

The aim of this  own - initiative opinion is to put forward recommendations to overcome existing obstacles that prevent persons with disabilities from voting in EP elections in the EU. Indeed, in each of the 27 EU countries, there are rules or organisational arrangements that deprive some voters with disabilities of their right to vote. The EESC considers this unacceptable and contrary to the fundamental values of the EU, to the provisions of the Treaty on European Union (TEU) and to many international legal and political acts. Therefore, the EESC calls on the EP, the European Council and Member States to urgently amend the 1976 Electoral Act by clarifying the principles of universality, directness and secrecy of elections, so as to allow the implementation of common standards granting the right to vote to all EU citizens.

Opinia Sekcji: The need to guarantee real rights for persons with disabilities to vote in European Parliament elections (additional opinion)

W toku (updated on 26/11/2020)
Sygnatura: 
NAT/807-EESC-2020
Sesja plenarna: 
559 -
Mar 24, 2021 Mar 25, 2021

The EU chemicals strategy aims to address the cumulative and combined effects of chemicals, including pesticides, stressing a need to accelerate work on methodologies that ensure existing provisions can be fully implemented.

The strategy is intended as a first step towards a zero pollution ambition for a toxic-free environment, as announced in the European Green Deal. 

Notatka informacyjna: Chemicals Strategy for Sustainability Towards a Toxic-Free Environment

W toku (updated on 25/11/2020)
Sygnatura: 
NAT/801-EESC-2020
Sesja plenarna: 
557 -
Jan 27, 2021 Jan 28, 2021

The Atlantic maritime strategy was adopted in 2011 to support the sustainable development of blue economy in the EU Member States bordering the Atlantic. In 2013, the European Commission put forward an Atlantic action plan to implement the strategy.

To give a new boost to a sustainable maritime economy that can create jobs, the European Commission proposes to update the priorities for regional cooperation, following stakeholders’ consultation. The update is also a fresh contribution to Europe’s recovery from the unprecedented socio-economic crisis triggered by the current COVID-19 pandemic.

Notatka informacyjna: Revised action plan for the Atlantic strategy

W toku (updated on 25/11/2020)
Sygnatura: 
NAT/808-EESC-2020
Sesja plenarna: 
557 -
Jan 27, 2021 Jan 28, 2021

On 14 October 2020, the European Commission the European Commission adopted a legislative proposal (COM(2020) 642 final) amending the Aarhus Regulation to allow for better public scrutiny of EU acts affecting the environment. The proposed amendments improve the possibilities particularly for environmental NGOs to request that the EU institutions review such acts to better ensure environmental protection. This will foster openness and accountability when it comes to environmental protection, contribute to greater transparency and a more effective pursuit of the EU environmental objectives and, thus, help achieve the systemic societal changes required by the European Green Deal.

Notatka informacyjna: Application of the Aarhus Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters to Community institutions and bodies

Pages