You are here

Opinions

Displaying 1 - 10 of 2136

Pages

In elaborazione (updated on 18/07/2019)
Riferimento: 
SOC/621-EESC-2019
Sessione plenaria: 
545 -
Jul 17, 2019 Jul 18, 2019

The future of Europe and of the EU will be shaped and developed by our young people – by the students sitting in classrooms today.  The foundations of their perceptions of and attitudes towards developments in Europe and the EU, and of their according them value or rejecting them, are already being laid in class and during discussions at school. The aim of a "Teaching Europe" initiative would be to put more emphasis on Europe and the EU in teaching in schools, and to highlight the EU's main achievements and its future challenges.  The way the history of the EU Member States is taught should also be taken into consideration. As an idea, easy-to-use teaching materials could be developed, which would explain, among other issues, the role played by the EESC, civil society and the social partners.

EESC opinion: Teaching Europe – developing a toolkit for schools (own-initiative opinion)

In elaborazione (updated on 18/07/2019)
Riferimento: 
INT/881-EESC-2019
Sessione plenaria: 
545 -
Jul 17, 2019 Jul 18, 2019

This opinion aims to identify the barriers, key success factors and solutions for creating a truly innovative business climate to capture the solutions provided by new economic models.

EESC opinion: Fostering an entrepreneurship and innovation friendly single market – promoting new business models to meet societal challenges and transitions (own-initiative opinion)

In elaborazione (updated on 17/07/2019)
Riferimento: 
TEN/695-EESC-2019
Sessione plenaria: 
545 -
Jul 17, 2019 Jul 18, 2019

The EESC takes note of the Fourth Report on the State of the Energy Union (SEU), supports the objectives of the Energy Union and welcomes the emphasis on the engagement and mobilisation of EU society to take full ownership of the Energy Union.

EESC section opinion: Report on the State of the Energy Union

In elaborazione (updated on 17/07/2019)
Riferimento: 
SOC/626-EESC-2019
Sessione plenaria: 
546 -
Sep 25, 2019 Sep 26, 2019

Information memo: More efficient decision-making in social policy: Identification of areas for an enhanced move to qualified majority voting

In elaborazione (updated on 17/07/2019)
Riferimento: 
TEN/696-EESC-2019
Sessione plenaria: 
545 -
Jul 17, 2019 Jul 18, 2019

The European Commission’s first progress report on the implementation of the Strategic Action Plan on Batteries shows that a variety of actions have been launched to develop a significant battery industry in the EU. Although it is far too early to draw definitive conclusions, the EESC supports the initiatives that the Commission has taken and has announced it will take to work with Member States and European industry to break Europe's dependence on non-EU – particularly Asian – countries. There is much to be done in the coming years to achieve the necessary level of technological expertise in the EU, to secure the supply of raw materials from third countries and EU sources and to ensure that batteries can be recycled safely and cleanly. Investing in staff is the joint responsibility for the government and the business community.

EESC section opinion: Strategic Action Plan on Batteries (report)

In elaborazione (updated on 16/07/2019)
Riferimento: 
REX/518-EESC-2019
Sessione plenaria: 
547 -
Oct 30, 2019 Oct 31, 2019

A system of corporate liability for human rights abuses is currently being negotiated in the UN, within the UNHRC’s open-ended intergovernmental working group on transnational corporations and other business enterprises concerning human rights (OEIGWG), established by the UN General Assembly on 26 June 2014. The mandate of the working group is to elaborate an international legally binding instrument to regulate, in international human rights law, the activities of transnational corporations and other business enterprises.

Information memo: Binding UN agreement on business and human rights (own-initiative opinion)

Pages