Press releases


Displaying 1 - 10 of 357
Reference number: 

Joint press release by the EESC president Christa Schweng and the Slovenian Minister for Foreign Affairs Anže Logar - The European Economic and Social Committee welcomes the priorities of the Slovenian Presidency of the Council and declares that it will cooperate closely with Ljubljana to help turn them into a reality. During the July plenary session, the EESC members had the opportunity to discuss the priorities with the Slovenian Minister for Foreign Affairs Anže Logar.

Reference number: 
33 / 2021

The involvement of organised civil society and the EESC is crucial in ensuring the broad participation of citizens in the Conference on the Future of Europe (CoFoE), highlighted Christa Schweng, president of the European Economic and Social Committee, at the inaugural Conference Plenary in Strasbourg on 19 June. Ms Schweng took part in the plenary along with a delegation of 18 EESC members.

Reference number: 

In a debate on European values with European Commissioner for Justice Didier Reynders, held at its plenary session on 10 June, the EESC asked for civil society organisations and citizens to be more heavily and more actively involved in standing up for democracy and the rule of law in the EU, which have taken a turn for the worse across Member States

Reference number: 

To provide the European Commission with a valuable contribution to its 2022 work programme, the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) has adopted a Resolution. This timely and important document addresses the main issues around using investment and reforms to overcome the economic and social crisis caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Reference number: 

Dziesiąta edycja Dnia EIO, poświęcona europejskiej inicjatywie obywatelskiej, odbyła się wyjątkowo w trybie zdalnym i trwała dwa dni. W sesji inauguracyjnej udział wzięli przewodnicząca EKES-u Christa Schweng, wiceprzewodnicząca Komisji Europejskiej Věra Jourová i wiceprzewodniczący Parlamentu Europejskiego Pedro Silva Pereira, którzy ocenili wykorzystanie tego niepowtarzalnego instrumentu demokracji uczestniczącej.