You are here

Opinions

Displaying 1 - 10 of 2131

Pages

Goedgekeurd on 15/05/2019
Referentie: 
SOC/610-EESC-2018
Zitting: 
543 -
May 15, 2019 May 16, 2019

Gender equality is not only a human rights issue; it is a social and economic necessity for the EU, its Member States and businesses, as it hugely impacts on sustainable growth and GDP, while allowing to use the potential of 51% of the EU population. The EU needs to elevate gender equality to a stand-alone goal with a binding strategy, centred in the following measures: fighting the economic inequality affecting women and the current backlash of their rights; ratifying and implementing the Istanbul Convention on all forms of violence against women (including harassment); addressing once and for all gendered stereotypes, namely through the media; and supporting civil society organisations working for greater gender equality.

EESC opinion: Gender equality issues (own initiative opinion)

In voorbereiding (updated on 24/05/2019)
Referentie: 
INT/885-EESC-2019
Zitting: 
545 -
Jul 17, 2019 Jul 18, 2019

This own-initiative opinion should answer following questions: Could the EU Single Market benefit from such a technology and how ? What steps could be taken to ensure that EU, its Single Market and its citizens benefit fully from this technology?

It could also reflect on whether and how using blockchain as an overarching infrastructure, in other European policies, could reinforce the European values of the Single Market and make it even more cohesive and democratic.

Information memo: Blockchain and the EU Single Market: what next? (own-initiative opinion)

Goedgekeurd on 15/05/2019
Referentie: 
SOC/611-EESC-2018
Zitting: 
543 -
May 15, 2019 May 16, 2019

The objective of the opinion, requested by the Romanian Presidency, is to explore which measures and initiatives should be taken at EU and national level in order to promote organised philanthropy and eliminate barriers within the internal market that are hindering the realisation of its full potential, so as to maximize its contribution to EU values, such as cohesion, social justice and European Policies, and to the competitiveness of the European economy.
The opinion is expected to feed into the Romanian presidency programme and into the political priorities for the new Commission.

EESC opinion: European Philanthropy: an untapped potential (Exploratory opinion at the request of the Romanian Presidency)

Goedgekeurd on 15/05/2019
Referentie: 
NAT/758-EESC-2018
Zitting: 
543 -
May 15, 2019 May 16, 2019

In October 2018, the European Commission launched the updated European Bio-economy Strategy.  The purpose of this update to the 2012 Bio-economy Strategy was to address the challenges of living in a world of limited resources.

EESC opinion: Communication updating the 2012 Bio-economy Strategy

Goedgekeurd on 23/05/2018
Referentie: 
REX/503-EESC-2018-01010-00-00-AS-TRA-fr

The EESC believes that an agreement of this nature will only be possible if it is balanced, beneficial to both parties in the medium  and long-term and does not sacrifice any particular sector (such as farming or industry), region or country. Under no circumstances can the AA be based on a poor deal...

EESC opinion: EU-Mercosur Association Agreement (own-initiative opinion)

Goedgekeurd on 23/05/2018
Referentie: 
NAT/720-EESC-2018-00491

The aim of this Communication is to promote a broad discussion in the Union on how the major elements identified at the interface between chemicals, product and waste legislation can be addressed.

EESC opinion: The interface between chemicals, products and waste legislation (communication)

Pages