3 p.m. | Registration of participants

3.30 p.m. | Welcome address and introduction

  • Joost van Iersel, President, Section for Economic and Monetary Union and Economic and Social Cohesion (ECO), European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)

Completing Europe's Economic and Monetary Union: state of play and forthcoming initiatives

  • Thomas Wieser, President, Euro Working Group
  • Massimo Suardi, Deputy Head, Cabinet of Vice-President Valdis Dombrovskis, European Commission
  • Alfred Camilleri, Permanent Secretary, Maltese Ministry of Finance

Expert Panel: EMU Quo vadis?

  • Guntram Wolff, Director, Bruegel
  • Frank Moss, Director-General, International and European Relations, ECB
  • Jochen Andritzky, Secretary-General, German Council of Economic Experts
  • Odile Renaud-Basso, Director-General, French Treasury
  • Jeffrey Franks, Director Europe Office and Senior Resident Representative to the EU, International Monetary Fund
  • Philippe Lamberts, MEP, Co-Chair, Greens/EFA Group, European Parliament

Summary and conclusions

  • Carmelo Cedrone, Secretary-General, European Movement in Italy, and former EESC rapporteur on EMU
  • Joost van Iersel, President of the ECO Section, EESC

6.30 p.m. |  End of hearing




EMU hearing - programme