The Next EU Youth Strategy

Draft agenda

9.30 - 10.00


10.00 - 10.10

Welcome and opening session

  • Joanna Siewierska, youth advocate and rapporteur's expert on the EESC opinion on the Next EU youth strategy (SOC/589)

10.10 - 11.15

Panel 1 : young voices

Moderator: Joanna Siewierska

  • Deborah Fakeye, youth advocate, member of Youth Work Ireland's National Youth Action Group
  • Zuzanna Adamska,  a secondary school student from High School No. 9 in Gdansk
  • Rania el Mard, president and spokesperson, Vlaamse Scholierenkoepel (Flemish school students' umbrella organisation) 

Open floor discussion

11.15 – 11.30

Coffee Break

11.30 – 12.40

Panel 2 : points of view EU institutions and social partners

Moderator: Gerhard Riemer, president of the study group

  • Ignacio Doreste, advisor, ETUC
  • Guillaume Cravero, Senior advisor, Business Europe
  • Liva Vikmane, Policy Officer Youth Participation, Youth Policy, European Youth Forum
  • Katherine Heid, member of the EESC president's cabinet in charge of culture and youth

Open floor discussion

12.40 – 13.00

Closing remarks

  • Florencia van Houdt, Head of Unit, DG EAC, European Commission,
  • Michael McLoughlin, rapporteur of the EESC opinion
  • Adam Rogalewski, corapporteur of the EESC opinion


Participants can speak English, French, German and Polish and listen to English, French, German and Polish


2018-07-09_Next EU youth strategy_Agenda