08h30 – 9h00   Registration of participants
09h00 – 11h15 Inaugural session

Welcoming remarks by

  • Oliver RÖPKE, President of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Aurel Laurenţiu PLOSCEANU, Vice-President of the EESC
  • Maida GORČEVIĆ, Minister of European Affairs, Government of Montenegro (online)

Opening remarks by

  • Decebal-Ștefăniță PADURE and Gordana ĐUROVIĆ, co chairs of the EU-Montenegro Joint Consultative Committee (JCC)

Presentation of the new composition of the JCC in the current mandate


Current state of play in EU-Montenegro relations: 2023 Enlargement Package and Montenegro Report, overview of the developments within the Berlin process

  • Michael MILLER, Head of Unit for Montenegro, Directorate-General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations, European Commission (DG NEAR)
  • H.E. Petar MARKOVIĆ, Ambassador and Head of Mission of Montenegro to the European Union


11h00 – 11h15 Coffee break
11h15 – 13h00  Cluster 1: The Fundamentals of the Accession Process – state of play of remaining unmet obligations, with a specific focus on Public Administration Reform (PAR)

Presentation of the reports:

  • Maja HANDJISKA TRENDAFILOVA, Director of Regional School of Public Administration (ReSPA)
  • Marko SOŠIĆ, Researcher, Institute Alternative: Western Balkan Enablers for Reforming Public Administrations (WeBER 3.0) (online)
  • Pavle D. RADOVANOVIĆ, member of the JCC
  • Cristian PÎRVULESCU, rapporteur of the EESC's own-initiative opinions SOC/725 Communicating fundamental rights and the rule of law and SOC/762 Civil society support and funding in the area of fundamental rights, the rule of law and democracy


13h00 – 14h30 Lunch break
14h30 – 16h00 Overview of the civil society situation in Montenegro, including social dialogue
  • Marina VUJAČIĆ, member of the JCC
  • Suzana RADULOVIĆ, member of the JCC
  • Tatjana DŽUDOVIĆ, member of the JCC
  • Tatiana ROMON, Montenegro Unit, DG NEAR, European Commission
  • Ana MARIGUESA, Programme Manager Civil Society, Delegation of the EU in Montenegro (online)


16h00 – 16h30         Adoption of the Joint declaration
16h30  End of meeting