Protocol on cooperation between the European Commission and the European Economic and Social Committee

This page is also available in


On 22 February 2012, European Commission President José Manuel Barroso and EESC President Staffan Nilsson signed a new protocol on cooperation between the EC and the EESC, which replaces a seven-year-old cooperation agreement.  The signing took place during the EESC plenary assembly in the presence of Maroš Šefčovič, Commissioner for Inter-Institutional Relations and administration.

The protocol marks a new step forward in the cooperation between the Commission and the Committee by strenghtening the EESC's role of enabling civil society participation in the policy-shaping and decision-making processes of the European Union in light of the Lisbon Treaty provisions on participatory democracy and civil dialogue and by providing for a stronger input of the EESC into the definition of the EU's political priorities, the European Commission's annual work programme and the Europe 2020 Strategy.

Read the full protocol by selecting your preferred language version below.