EESC Civil Society Prize 2021

5 organisations are awarded the 2021 EESC Civil Society Prize

The EESC is pleased to announce the five winners of the 12th edition of the Civil Society Prize, which rewards initiatives aimed at promoting a just transition towards a low-carbon and climate-resilient economy.

An evaluation panel composed of ten experts chose the winners from among dozens of outstanding climate projects from 24 Member States.

The prize awards ceremony took place on 9 December 2021 during the EESC plenary session.

The first prize, of a value of 14.000 EUR, went to Grootouders voor het Klimaat (Grandparents for the Climate), an association which encourages Belgian grandparents to redirect their savings to more sustainable projects to leave a better world to the young generation.

The other prizes, of a value of 9.000 EUR each, went to:

2nd prize: Associació Catalana Enginyeria Sense Fronteres (Engineers Without Borders Catalonia), a Spanish association which includes the energy poor into ongoing debates on climate emergency and aims to empower disadvantaged people to exercise their fundamental right to have access to basic utilities.

3rd prize: Ateliere Fără Frontiere (Workshop Without Borders), a Romanian association which at the same tackles social injustice and raises awareness of the advantages of circular economy by refurbishing waste electronic equipment and donating it to schools from disadvantaged areas and organisations working with vulnerable children.

4th prize: Prostorož, a non-profit urban-planning studio which has mobilised residents and the city's authorities in Ljubljana to implement cooling measures to improve living conditions in the Slovenian capital, one of the fastest warming cities in the world.

5th prize: Estonian Green Movement / Estonian Fund for Nature / Estonian Environmental Law Centre which fight to change perceptions about renewable energy, launched a nationwide petition calling for climate neutrality and created a platform for a dialogue between all sides, including the government.  

The EESC thanks all candidates for their application and warmly congratulates the winners.


2021 Civil Solidarity Prize - rules
2021 Civil Solidarity Prize - Privacy statement
2021 Civil Solidarity Prize - declaration on honour
2021 Civil Solidarity Prize - FAQs