Recovery, Open Strategic Autonomy and Resilience

This page is also available in

27.02.23 - Day 1 – Charlemagne

08:00-09:30  Registration and welcome coffee

09:30-10:15  Keynote speeches

  • Frans Timmermans, EVP European Commission
  • Christa Schweng, President of the EESC
  • Romina Pourmokhtari, Swedish Minister for Environment 

10:15-11:15  Plenary - 2023: a key year for the circular economy to foster resource efficiency

  • Florika Fink-Hooijer, Director General of Directorate General for Environment
  • Alessandra Moretti, ENVI Committee, Member of European Parliament 
  • Frédérique Ries, ENVI Committee, Member of the European Parliament (tbc)
  • Torbjörn Haak, Deputy Permanent Representative, Permanent Representation of Sweden to the EU 
  • Agata Meysner, Director Generation Climate Europe

11:15-11:45  Break

11:45-12:45  Plenary - The circular economy at the heart of EU recovery

  • Giulio Federico, Head of Unit RECOVER Environment, Energy, Sustainable Transport, Competition
  • Pavel Zednicek, Executive and Chief Financial Officer, INCIEN, Czechia
  • Nicole Kronenberg, Deputy Head of Unit for Circular Economy, Ministry for Environment, Conservation and Transport of North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Sari Piippo, CircWaste, Finland

12:45-13:00  Keynote speech

  • Hans Bruyninckx, Director EEA

13:00-14:00  Lunch break

14:00-15:20  Breakout sessions

  • “The transition to safe-and-sustainable chemicals” Web streaming
  • “The European automotive industry driving towards circularity” Web streaming
  • “Greening global textiles value chains”  

15:20-15:50  Break

15:50-16:50  Plenary - The circular economy’s role in taking forward the European Green Deal’s ambitions and fostering resource independence

  • Aurel Ciobanu-Dordea, Director, Directorate for Circular Economy, European Commission
  • Joss Bleriot, Executive Lead, Institutions, Governments and Cities, Ellen MacArthur Foundation 
  • Petri Salminen, President SMEUnited (tbc)
  • Federica Marchionni, CEO Global Fashion Agenda
  • Philipp Horn, Head of Division of Circular Economy, EIB

16:50-17:05  Closing dialogue - Recovering from global shocks through the circular economy - what to expect from the transition

  • Virginijus Sinkevičius, Commissioner for the Environment, Oceans and Fisheries, European Commission
  • Agata Meysner, Director Generation Climate Europe 
  • George Kyrou, Founder of Motivw  

17:05-17:15  The ECESP - a hub to navigate barriers to and opportunities of the circular economy

  • Freek van Eijk, Chair of ECESP Coordination Group 


28.02.23 - Day 2 – Jacques Delors Building

09:30-10:00  Opening Plenary Web streaming JDE 62

  • Christa Schweng, EESC President
  • Patrick Child, DG ENV 
  • Freek van Eijk, ECESP CG chair – Holland Circular Hotspot
  • Elin Larsson, Director for Markets and Finance WWF

10:00-10:45  Plenary Session - Biodiversity and climate Web streaming JDE 62

  • Moderator: Boris Erg, IUCN
  • Introductory remarks: Arnaud Schwartz, EESC member
  • Setting the scene: Hans Bruyninckx, EEA (tbc)
  • The current policy status surrounding the CE-biodiversity-climate nexus, including an overview of key current issues: Carolina D’Cunha, Deputy Head of Unit, DG ENV
  • Key findings presentations:
            Tobias Nielsen, Swedish Environmental Research Institute
            Sonja Eser, SinnenWandel
            Mika Sulkinoja, Sitra
            Alexander Mannweiler, CSCP
  • Closing

10:45-11:00  Coffee break

11:00-12:00  Parallel sessions 1 - Biodiversity and Climate

12:00-13:00  Interactive wrap up Web streaming JDE 62

13:00-14:30  Lunch break and Networking village

14:30-15:15  Plenary Session - Intergenerational dialogue on resource resilience in Europe Web streaming JDE 62

  • Moderator: Mayri Tiido, Lowmerism founder and CEO
  • Keynote Speech: Teresa Oberhauser, Global Coordinator, Youth Constituency of UNEP
  • Panel discussion: 
    • Nicoletta Merlo, Member, EESC 
    • Teresa Oberhauser
    • Artur ten Wolde, Executive Director, Ecopreneur

15:15-16:15  Parallel Sessions 2 - Resource Resilience for Europe  

16:15-16:30  Coffee break

16:30-17:30  Interactive wrap up Web streaming JDE 62

17:30-17:45  Closing Plenary Web streaming JDE 62

  • Ladeja Godina Košir, Founder Circular Change, Co-chair ECESP 
  • Cillian Lohan, EESC Vice-President