You are here

Sections & Other Bodies

The EESC has six sections, specialising in concrete topics of relevance to the citizens of the European Union, ranging from social to economic affairs, energy, environment, external relations or the internal market. Members participate in one or more of these sections depending on their areas of expertise, and it is here that much of the groundwork on opinions is carried out. The EESC also has a Consultative Commission on Industrial Change (CCMI), which helps EU industry anticipate and adapt to the impact of globalisation.

The sections/commission of the EESC are:

The EESC has also set up three specialist observatories – on the single market (SMO), the labour market (LMO) and sustainable development (SDO) – plus a steering committee for the EU’s 2020 Strategy for Growth and Jobs.

A Liaison Group has been set up to to interact with European civil society organisations and networks and monitor joint initiatives.