This page is also available in

Chair for the conference: Ms Jacki Davis



Monday 20 June


10 a.m.



Meeting room JDE 62



10.30 a.m. -12 p.m.










Inaugural Session


  • Mr Luca Jahier, President of the Various Interests Group of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Ms Silvia Costa, Chair of the Culture and Education Committee of the European Parliament
  • Mr Nymand Christensen, Deputy Director General of DG Education and Culture, European Commission
  • Mr Paul Dujardin, Chief Executive Officer and Artistic Director of the Centre for Fine Arts (Bozar)
  • Ms Kathrin Merkle, Head of the Culture and Democracy Division, Directorate of Democratic Governance  at the Council of Europe
  • Q & As


12- 12.45 p.m.





12.45 – 2.15 p.m.



2.15 – 3.45 p.m.









3.45 – 4.15 p.m.


4.15 – 6 p.m.











6 -8 p.m.







Tuesday 21 June


9.30 -11 a.m.








11 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.










12.30 -1 p.m.


























Mr Luca Bergamo, Secretary General of Culture Action Europe and Mr Jordi Pascual, Coordinator of Culture at United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG-Agenda 21 for culture) - presentation of the EESC commissioned study 'Culture, Cities and Identity in Europe'

  • Q & As



Buffet lunch hosted by the President of the Various Interests Group of the EESC

Atrium on the 6th floor of the Jacques Delors building


Culture as a Vehicle for Economic Growth


  • Mr Bernd Fesel, Managing Director of the European Creative Business Network (ECBN)
  • Mr Robert Palmer, consultant, author of 'Eventful Cities: Cultural Management and Urban Revitalisation
  • Mr Jean Charles De Cordes, Head of Coordination of the Council of Europe Office to the European Union, Brussels – presentation of the Cultural Routes programme of the Council of Europe
  • Q & As


Coffee break


Culture as an Instrument for Reconverting Cities and Territories


  • Mr Dimitri Konstantinidis, Director of Apollonia (European Artistic Exchanges) and manager of the international project E-city europe
  • Mr Cristian Carrara, President of the Culture Committee, Council of the Region of Lazio, Italy
  • Ms Jo Beggs, Head of Development at the Manchester Museums Partnership (Manchester Art Gallery, Manchester Museum, The Whitworth, Gallery of Costume), UK
  • Dr Katarzyna Młyńczak-Sachs, Head of the International Relations Office, 'Impact 2016 Festival Centre' of the city of Wroclaw in Poland (2016 European Capital of Culture)
  • Mr Carolino Tapadejo, former Mayor of Castelo de Vide, Portugal
  • Q & As


Cultural evening and reception – EuroMediterranean Music Academy EMMA for PEACE in collaboration with KulturLeben Berlin

  • Mr Paolo Petrocelli, Founder and President of EMMA for PEACE
  • 'Damascus String Quintet' by the Syrian Expat Philharmonic Orchestra (SEPO)

Atrium on the 5th and 6th floor of the Jacques Delors building



Meeting room VM3


Culture as a Tool for Integration and Inclusiveness


  • Mr Phil Wood, urban therapist and author of 'The Intercultural City Reader'
  • Ms Linda Potyondi, Managing Director of the Krétakör Foundation, Budapest - Winners of the 2016 Princess Margriet Award for Culture of the European Culture Foundation
  • Mr Luís Miguel De Matos Abreu dos Santos, Director General Cassefaz - Produção Cultural Associado da Academia de Produtores Culturais - Festival Todos, Lisbon
  • Q & As


Reshaping European Identity Within Europe and Beyond


  • Ms Taja Vovk van Gaal, Academic Project Leader of House of European History at European Parliament
  • Ms Lotte Knudsen, Managing Director for Global Issues (Human rights, Global and Multilateral issues), the European External Action Service – the opportunities of European cultural diplomacy
  • Ms Kathleen Weyts, curator of the project Imagine Europe: in search of new narratives, Bozar
  • Mr Robert Adam, Director of the Romanian Cultural Institute in Brussels
  • Q & As


Concluding Session


  • Mr Francesco Bandarin, Assistant Director-General for Culture of UNESCO

  • Ms Tinkara Oblak, Member of the Board of the European Youth Forum
  • Mr Luca Jahier, President of the Various Interests Group of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)