Draft programme

Monday 15 May

8.30 a.m.–9.30 a.m.    Registration

9.30 a.m.–10.15 a.m.   OPENING SESSION

Chair: Yves Somville, president of the ACP-EU Follow-up Committee

  • Georges Dassis, President of the European Economic and Social Committee
  • Henrique A. Banze, Assistant Secretary-General of the ACP Group of States
  • Klaus Rudischhauser, Deputy Director General for International Cooperation and Development, European Commission
  • Richard Ssewakiryanga, Chair of the African Union's Economic, Social and Cultural Council

10.15 a.m.–10.30 a.m.    Coffee break

10.30 a.m.–1 p.m.    TRADE RELATIONS between the ACP countries and the EU

Chair: Buchekabiri Sifa Chiyoge, Regional Director, international Cooperative Alliance Africa

  • Diana Acconcia, Head of Unit for ACP Economic Partnership Agreements, DG TRADE, European Commission
  • Dr Joachim Schuster, Member of the European Parliament
  • Tony Walcott, Executive Director, Barbados Employer Confederation


1 p.m.–2:30 p.m.    Lunch hosted by the EESC

2.30 p.m.–4.30 p.m.    EUROPEAN CONSENSUS for DEVELOPMENT

Chair: Ozlem Yildirim, Adviser, General Confederation of Labour of France

  • Michael John Ellis, Unit for Policy and Coherence, DG DEVCO, European Commission
  • Ionuţ Sibian, EESC rapporteur on the new European Consensus for Development
  • Joan Lanfranco, Advocacy Officer, Trade Union Development Cooperation Network
  • Ousseine Diallo, Executive Secretary, Federation of West African Employers' Organisations


5 p.m.–6 p.m.    Meeting of the members of the ACP-EU Follow-up Committee

Tuesday 16 May

9 a.m.–11 a.m.     Prevention and Reduction of FOOD WASTE

Chair: Francisca Jiménez, Member, Dominican Republic Autonomous Trade Union Confederation

  • Robert van Otterdijk, Global Initiative on Food Loss and Waste Reduction (SAVE FOOD), FAO
  • Dyborn Chibonga (National Smallholder Farmers' Association of Malawi)


11 a.m.–11.15 a.m.    Coffee break

11.15 a.m.–1 p.m.    INDUSTRIALISATION in ACP economies as a development driver

Chair: Mihai Manoliu, President of the National Confederation of Romanian Employers (tbc)

  • Olga Memedovic, Chief of Regional Bureau and Senior Industrial Development Officer, UNIDO
  • Anne-Cécile Coly, Member of the National Union of Autonomous Trade Unions of Senegal
  • Frederick Muia, Jobs For Africa Foundation


1 p.m.–2.30 p.m.    Lunch hosted by the EESC    

2.30 p.m.–4.30 p.m.    The FUTURE of EU RELATIONS with the ACP group of countries

Chair: Brenda King, EESC rapporteur on post-Cotonou

  • Geert Laporte, Deputy Director, European Center for Development Policy Management
  • Chinedu Madichie, Board Member, African Diaspora Network Europe
  • Steffie Neyens, Member of the ACP Working Party, Concord
  • Yentyl Williams, Founder & President, ACP Youth Professionals Network


4.30 p.m.– 5 p.m.    Coffee break

5 p.m.–6 p.m.    Closing session and adoption of the Final Declaration

Presentation of the Final Declaration by Yves Somville, president of the ACP-EU Follow-up Committee and EESC member