This page is also available in

09.15 - 09.45 a.m. - Registration

10.00 - 11 a.m. - Opening session

  • Minister Pippa Hackett, Minister of State for Land Use and Biodiversity, Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine
  • Séamus Boland, President of the Civil Society Organisations' Group of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) and CEO of Irish Rural Link
  • Kieran Mulvey, Just Transition Commissioner
  • Stephane Duclot, Director of Services, Offaly County Council

11.00 a.m. - 12.30 p.m. - Session I: Strengthening communities and building capacities through recreation and heritage

Moderator: John Comer, President of the Irish Creamery Milk Suppliers Association (ICMSA) and Member of the Civil Society Organisations' Group of the EESC

  • Jim Ryan, Community Wetlands Forum representative on the Board of Irish Rural Link
  • Aoife Kirk, Community Engagement Officer & Project Coordinator, Community Wetlands Forum, Irish Rural Link
  • Brendan O’Loughlin, CEO Offaly Development Company
  • Q & A

12.30 - 2.00 p.m. - Lunch break

2.00 - 3.30 p.m. - Session II: Creating jobs and delivering renewable energy

Moderator: Cillian Lohan, CEO of the Green Economy Foundation and Vice-President of the EESC

  • Cllr. Eamon Dooley, Member of the European Committee of the Regions (Renew Europe party) and of the local executive of the Offaly County Council
  • Clodagh Barry, Project Director of Social Enterprise Exchange and Director of 'The Cluster Centre'
  • Derry O Donnell, Development Coordinator, ‘Community Led Just Transition North Tipperary’ Project, a collaboration between Energy Communities Tipperary Cooperative CLG (ECTC), Littleton Development Association CLG. and Ballingarry (Thurles) Community Development CLG
  • Q & A

3.30 - 5.00 p.m. - Session III: Investing in education and training

Moderator: Joe Healy, representative of the Irish Farmer's Association and Member of the Civil Society Organisations' Group of the EESC

  • Dr Séan Healy, Director of Social Justice Ireland
  • Attracta Uí Bhroin, Vice-President of the European Environment Bureau (EEB), Environmental Law Officer at the Irish Environmental Network and representative of the An Taisce (National Trust for Ireland)
  • Padraig Boland, representative of the Laois Offaly Education and Training Board, Midland Regional Just Transition Team and Chair of the Working Group 'Employment Continuity Pathways'
  • Q & A

5.00 - 5.15 p.m. - Closing session

  • Cllr. Declan Harvey, Cathaoirleach (Chairman) of the Offaly County Council
  • Séamus Boland, President of the Civil Society Organisations' Group of the EESC