Public Hearing - Europe's Media Action Plan

This page is also available in


9.30 - 10.00   Opening session          

  • Gonçalo LOBO XAVIER, Member, European Economic and Social Committee
  • Corina ȘUTEU, former Minister of Culture of Romania and President, FilmETC
  • Jan TREI, Rapporteur for the opinion on Media in the Digital Decade: an Action Plan, European Committee of the Regions                   
  • Lucia RECALDE LANGARICA, Head of Unit, Audiovisual Industry and Media Support Programmes, European Commission

10.00 - 11.15    1st session: MEDIA

Moderator: Baiba MILTOVIČA, President, TEN Section, European Economic and Social Committee

  • Ilias KONTEAS, Executive Director, European Newspaper Publishers' Association (ENPA) and Joint Executive Director, European Magazine Media Association (EMMA)
  • Aurore RAOUX, Policy & Public Affairs Advisor, News Media Europe
  • Razvan IONESCU, Publisher,
  • José María GARCÍA GONZÁLEZ, Secretary, Trade Union for Media and Culture
  • Jens ZVIRGZDGRAUDS, Policy Officer, European Committee of the Regions


11.15 - 11.30    Break                                            

11.30 - 12.45    2nd session: AUDIOVISUAL

Moderator: Elena-Alexandra CALISTRU, Rapporteur for the opinion TEN/731 on Europe's Media Action plan, European Economic and Social Committee      

  • Karim IBOURKI, Vice-Chair, European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services (ERGA) and Chairman, French speaking Belgian regulator CSA
  • Jari-Pekka KALEVA, Managing Director, European Games Developer Federation (EGDF) and Chief Policy Advisor, Neogames Finland ry
  • Julie-Jeanne RÉGNAULT, Secretary General, European Association of Film Agencies (EFAD)
  • Alexandra LEBRET, Managing Director, European Producers Club (EPC)
  • Mathilde FIQUET, European Coordination of Independent Producers (CEPI)
  • Sónia OLIVEIRA, Federation of Associations of Performing Arts Companies (FAETEDA)


12.45 - 13.00   Conclusions

Christophe QUAREZ, President of the study group TEN/731 on Europe's Media Action plan, European Economic and Social Committee

Follow us on Twitter:  #Media4Europe  #MediaEU  #EURecovery  #DigitalDecade  #DigitalEU  #DigitalFuture  |  @EESC_TEN