You are here

Opinions in the spotlight

Displaying 1 - 7 of 7
Ongoing (updated on 15/02/2019)
Referência: 
TEN/690-EESC
Plenary session: 
541 -
Feb 20, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

The EESC supports the Commission's steps to ensure basic international HVG freight transport connectivity on a temporary basis between the Union and the United Kingdom.

The EESC welcomes the fact that the proposal for a regulation under examination grants UK road haulage operators the right, until 31/12/2019, to move freely within Union territory, in compliance with the common EU rules on access to the international haulage market, and provided that Union carriers can also move freely on UK territory under fair, equal and non-discriminatory conditions of competition.

Ongoing (updated on 15/02/2019)
Referência: 
TEN/688-EESC
Plenary session: 
541 -
Feb 20, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

The EESC underlined repeatedly that international aviation can only assume its role as an enabler for economic growth sustainably, if highest levels of safety are maintained. Prerequisites for safety are uniform standards which are implemented by all stakeholders and monitored by empowered agencies. Brexit may jeopardise such standards and uniform application in Europe in the field of aviation safety, because the pertinent EU regulations could no longer apply to UK aviation stakeholders as of March 2019.

Ongoing (updated on 15/02/2019)
Referência: 
TEN/689-EESC
Plenary session: 
541 -
Feb 20, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) has consistently underlined the importance and size of the Single European Aviation Area as a catalyst for economic growth, prosperity and for maintaining Europe's competitiveness internationally. Once the decision of the United Kingdom (UK) to cease to be a member of the European Union (BREXIT) comes into effect, all sectors of the UK's economy will no longer be an integral part of the European Single Market; its aviation sector will no longer benefit from, and contribute to, the Single European Aviation Area. In an – increasingly probable – "no Withdrawal Agreement" scenario, the legislation of the EU, in particular Regulation 1008/2008, would cease to apply for air services between the UK and the EU. This creates legal uncertainty, jeopardises planning stability and endangers continued connectivity for services between the UK and the EU.

Ongoing (updated on 15/02/2019)
Referência: 
TEN/679-EESC-2018
Plenary session: 
541 -
Feb 20, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

Digitalisation offers a wealth of new possibilities allowing people to make choices for a better life in an unprecedented way. On the other hand, the more digitalisation dominates our life, the more we can also be manipulated.  The EESC calls for transparent rules to be developed, adapted and applied to these rapidly evolving technologies. Good persuasive technology should involve training, not manipulation, and comply with the principle of people's free choice, to guarantee human autonomy.

EESC section opinion: The digital revolution in view of citizens' needs and rights (own-initiative opinion)

Ongoing (updated on 13/02/2019)
Referência: 
NAT/755-EESC-2018-04568
Plenary session: 
541 -
Feb 20, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

The own-initiative opinion aims to analyse the link between current food systems and diet-related diseases;  identify policies, tools and instruments that are needed to foster healthier diets both on the supply and demand side, for example sustainable dietary guidelines, sustainable food labelling schemes, education modules in school curricula, information campaigns, specific agricultural schemes (such as the EU school food scheme), food product reformulation, etc.; highlight examples of good practices at national and local level - including civil society and business initiatives; contribute to the debate on the implementation of food-related SDGs and in the context of the UN Decade of Action on Nutrition; provide recommendations for future EU action.

EESC section opinion: Promoting healthy and sustainable diets in the EU (own-initiative opinion)