Available Languages:


Stand up for democracy and speak up for Europeans

Dear readers,

It is with great pleasure that I address you as the newly elected president of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC). I would like to extend my warm wishes to all of you and express my gratitude for the invaluable work that civil society organisations do every day to make our societies better.

New publications

Stand up for democracy – Speak up for Europe

The political manifesto highlights the priorities of the EESC's newly elected President Oliver Röpke for his 2023-2025 mandate, outlining the key ideas and initiatives he plans to put forward to achieve a more resilient, more inclusive and more democratic EU.

Click here to download a copy of the manifesto.

VIDEO: Where should the EESC be heading over the next few years?

Watch the video in which EESC members and partners voice their expectations for the second half of the term of office.


Democracy to guide the programme of the new EESC president

The president vows to make the European Economic and Social Committee a go-to institution for democratic dialogue and open its doors to the EU accession countries.

Romanian member Aurel Laurenţiu Plosceanu is the new EESC Vice-President for Communication

A member of the EESC's Employers Group, Mr Plosceanu is president of the Romanian Construction Entrepreneurs' Association (ARACO) and vice-president of the General Union of Romanian Industrialists (UGIR).

Poland's Krzysztof Pater is the new EESC Vice-President for Budget

Former Polish Minister for Social Policy and current President of the Polish Scouting and Guiding Association (ZHP), Mr Pater was elected to the post on 26 April by the plenary assembly of the EESC, of which he has been a very active member since 2006.

Who is who: the EESC's new leadership

See below the new organisational chart of the EESC leadership.

The EESC's mid-term renewal explained

All the EESC's top leaders change for the second half of the term of office, which runs from April 2023 to September 2025.