Draft programme

Shaping Europe together - The future is in your hands

  • EESC event in the framework of the Conference on the Future of Europe 24 February 2022, VMA3

13:30 Technical test, VMA3, EESC premises

  • Moderator: Beatriz Rios, Reporter, broadcast journalist & presenter

Opening session

14:30 Opening address by Christa Schweng, EESC President

14:40 Keynote Speech by Bijan Moini, German lawyer and writer

14:50 Statement by Stefano Mallia, President of the EESC Employers’ Group (Group I)

14:55 Statement by Oliver Röpke, President of the EESC Workers’ Group (Group II)

15:00 Statement by Séamus Boland, President of the EESC Diversity Europe Group (Group III)


15:05 The Conference on the Future of Europe and the Europe we want: how to ensure a digital, green and resilient Europe

  • Slido poll


  1. Cillian Lohan, EESC Vice-President for communication
  2. Colin Scicluna, Head of Cabinet of Vice President of European Commission Dubravka Šuica
  3. Frank Heemskerk, Secretary General of European Round Table for Industry (ERT)
  4. Liina Carr, Confederal Secretary of the European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)
  5. Nini Tsiklauri, EU activist, Author, Actress and Political scientist

Q&A (live, from the public / chat /

16:05 Coffee break and music video by Haven quartet

16:20 Bringing the European project back to citizens: an institutional framework up to the challenges ahead.

  • Slido poll


  1. Giulia Barbucci, EESC Vice-President for budget
  2. Siegfried Mureşan, Member of the European Parliament and Vice-Chair of the European People's Party
  3. Kim Söderström, trade unionist
  4. Martyna Pawlak, youth activist

Q&A (live, from the public / chat /

17:20 Closing session

17:20 Video message by Clément Beaune,Secretary of State for European Affairs to the Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs of France

17:30 Remarks by Alice Krutilova, Director of the Department for the Czech Presidency of the Council of the EU at Office of the Government of the Czech Republic

17:35 Remarks by Eva Sjögren, Director General for EU Affairs, Prime Minister’s Office of Sweden

17:40 Wrap-up and conclusions by Christa Schweng, EESC President

17:50 End of the event