Opinions in the spotlight

Pages

Displaying 11 - 19 of 19
Adopted on 15/07/2020
Reference: 
INT/896-EESC-2020
Plenary session: 
553 - Jul 16, 2020

The EESC welcomes this package of new initiatives in a wide range of areas and advocates a European path to digitalisation by seizing the opportunities for the economy together with the protection of our data to ensure privacy and self-determination.

EESC opinion: Shaping Europe's Digital Future

Adopted on 15/07/2020
Reference: 
INT/895-EESC-2020
Plenary session: 
553 - Jul 16, 2020

The Commission's new Circular Economy Action Plan focuses on sustainable products, less waste, product value chains, and circularity in regions and cities, and the global level.

EESC opinion: New Circular Economy Action Plan

Adopted on 15/07/2020
Reference: 
INT/894-EESC-2020
Plenary session: 
553 - Jul 16, 2020

The EESC congratulates the Commission's for its strategy to encourage the uptake of AI technologies while also ensuring their compliance with European ethical norms, legal requirements and social values.

EESC opinion: White Paper on Artificial Intelligence

Adopted on 15/07/2020
Reference: 
INT/897-EESC-2020
Plenary session: 
553 - Jul 16, 2020

The European Union and its Member States must stand united to protect their sovereignty. The EESC firmly believes that if Europe is to maintain its leading role in the world, it needs a strong, competitive industrial base. The EESC recognises the crucial importance of shifting to a carbon-neutral economy and of reversing the current curve of biodiversity collapse. Without a green industrial strategy as a cornerstone of the Green Deal, the EU will never succeed in reaching a carbon-neutral economy within one generation. The new industrial strategy must ensure the right balance between supporting European businesses, respecting our 2050 climate neutrality objective and providing consumers with incentives to shift consumption to sustainable goods and services .

EESC opinion: Industrial strategy

Adopted on 15/07/2020
Reference: 
REX/525-EESC-2020
Plenary session: 
553 - Jul 16, 2020

The Covid-19 impact is having a profound and unprecedented impact and Europe needs to respond with a strong, social, sustainable and inclusive EU Recovery Plan that will support companies and people. The upcoming early EU Trade Strategy review needs to draw important lessons from this crisis. The EU is not self-sufficient and depends on access to international markets. It needs resilient, diversified and responsible Global supply chains. Stronger instruments need to deliver on a sustainable trade and investment agenda in all its dimensions. It needs to be consistent with the Green Deal and show equal ambition on the effective implementation and enforcement of labour provisions. European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) recommendations made in a series of recent and ongoing key opinions on EU trade must inform this strategy review.

EESC opinion: Implementation of Free Trade Agreements 1 January 2018 - 31 December 2018

Adopted on 15/07/2020
Reference: 
CCMI/175-EESC-2020
Plenary session: 
553 - Jul 16, 2020

Disruptions like coronavirus (COVID-19) threaten to bring the world economy and social life to a standstill. Its impacts include recessions in the USA, the EU, Japan and other regions of the world, extremely slow growth in China and huge losses in terms of output. Governments have to offset economic damage with fiscal and monetary policies and cope with the expected changes of the economic paradigm. The EESC stresses the need for efficient business models and trade defence mechanisms, in particular with regard to Asia, and notes that 36 million jobs in the EU depend on the EU's exporting potential, and that the share of EU employment supported by sales of goods and services to the rest of the world in relation to total employment increased from 10.1% in 2000 to 15.3% in 2017. The fiscal, economic and social response to the crisis is necessary for preventing its negative impact on these and other sectors.

EESC opinion: Fostering competitiveness, innovation, growth and job creation by advancing in global regulatory cooperation, by supporting a renewed multilateral trading scheme and by reducing market-distorting subsidies (own-initiative opinion)

Pages