Stefano Mallia re-elected as President of the EESC Employers' Group for second half of 2020-2025 term

At its September Group meeting, Stefano Mallia was re-elected as President of the Employers' Group for the second half of the 2020-2025 mandate with 98.97% of the votes.

"I am extremely proud to have been re-elected President of the Employers' Group for a second term. The strong support you have given me will only make me more motivated to work even harder for employers and enterprises in Europe," Stefano Mallia said thanking the members for their trust and support. 

"In the past years, we have faced some of the most serious crises ever experienced in Europe and indeed the world. The pandemic which came upon us like a bolt out of the blue saw us face unimaginable situations whereby the world economy was practically shut down with huge economic and social repercussions that spared no country no matter how big or small. Whilst still grappling with the virus which continues to circulate and mutate we are now facing the challenge of a shocking and horrific war right on our doorstep in neighbouring Ukraine," he added.

"This war is threatening the viability of our companies and risks derailing the transition to a green economy which is fundamental if we are to successfully address climate change which remains our number one existential challenge for the medium to long term," he continued,  promising to lead the EESC Employers' Group members to play an active role in shaping, with their knowledge and expertise, the Europe of tomorrow.

President Mallia vowed to strengthen even further the transparency of the working methods which he hailed as a hallmark of the Group. He continued by saying that at the same time he wanted to continue giving a big push on policy and content related work, "with passion and conviction that our unique institution can provide workable solutions to the many challenges we face today."

At the Group meeting, the EESC Employers' Group also elected its candidates for further EESC key positions for the second half of the 2020-2025 term:

  • Sandra Parthie for INT Section President
  • Dimitris Dimitriadis for REX Section President
  • Pietro de Lotto for CCMI President
  • Janusz Pietkiewicz for Quaestor

Work organisation