You are here

Cooperation with other EU Institutions and partnerships

The EESC's cooperation with other EU Institutions is based on the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU -Article 300). According to the Treaty, the Committee is consulted by the European Parliament, the Council or the Commission on predefined policy areas. Additionally, the Committee may be consulted by these institutions in all cases in which they consider it appropriate. The EESC's relations with the European Commission and the Committee of the Regions are structured by a Protocol on Cooperation. Moreover, the Committee has established privileged relationships with the rotating Presidencies of the European Council, and the cooperation between the EESC and the European Parliament has been intensified with the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty.

Partnerships are cooperation agreements made between the EESC and organised civil society stakeholders.