Western Balkans

Related Theme: External Relations - Enlargement/EUNeighbours

The EESC's activities concerning the Western Balkans involve Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Kosovo. However, relations between the EESC and civil societies from candidate countries to accession are dealt with more specifically by the EU-Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Joint Consultative Committee and the EU-Montenegro Joint Consultative Committee and EU-Serbia Joint Consultative Committee.

The EESC hopes to complement the regional approach, embodied by the Western Balkans Civil Society Forum and coordinated by the Western Balkans Follow-up Committee, with a country-by-country approach which will call for more specific opinions and activities.

The EESC aims to support the development of civil society in the countries of the region including the consolidation of economic and social councils and similar institutions. To this end, the EESC will back regional cooperation initiatives put forward by the above institutions.


David HOIĆ, Administrator
Please contact David HOIC
Nadja KAČIČNIK, Assistant
Please contact Nadja KACICNIK


Documents & Publications on Western Balkans