Establishing a european list of safe countries of origin

7 Dec 2015
Adopted References: REX/457 EESC-2015-5379 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr José Antonio MORENO DIAZ (Workers - GR II / Spain) Plenary Session: 512 - 9 Dec 2015 - 10 Dec 2015 (Summary Plenary Session) J.O. C 71, 24.02.2016 p.82
Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council establishing an EU common list of safe countries of origin

EESC opinion: Establishing a european list of safe countries of origin

Background information

The European Commission presented a comprehensive European Agenda on Migration on 13 May 2015, outlining, in addition to the immediate measures proposed shortly thereafter by the Commission to respond to the crisis situation in the Mediterranean, further initiatives that need to be taken to provide structural solutions for better managing migration in all its aspects.

Currently EU law does not contain an EU common list of safe countries of origin. The present proposal aims at establishing such a EU common list, on the basis of the common criteria set in Directive 2013/32/EU, as it will facilitate the use by all Member States of the procedures linked to the application of the safe country of origin concept and, thereby, to increase the overall efficiency of their asylum systems as concerns applications for international protection which are likely to be unfounded. An EU common list will also reduce the existing divergences between Member States’ national lists of safe countries of origin, thereby facilitating convergence in the procedures and deterring secondary movements of applicants for international protection.

On the basis of all relevant information at its disposal, in particular reporting from the European External Action Service (EEAS) and the information from Member States, the European Asylum Support Office (EASO), the Council of Europe, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and other relevant international organisations, the European Commission has come to the conclusion that Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Kosovo*, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey are safe countries of origin within the meaning of Directive 2013/32/EU and should be included in the EU common list of safe countries of origin.

Multimedia - REX section

RSS Feed
  • Published In: 2016
    17 pages
    European Economic and Social Committee contribution to the European Commission’s 2017 Work Programme

    Representatives of European organised civil society have put forward their proposals as part of the preparation by the Commission of its 2017 Work Programme. While regretting the result of UK citizens' vote to leave the EU, the EESC asks for a rapid  start to the negotiations with the UK in order to respond to the present uncertainty about the future of the EU and it demands to be fully involved in the negotiation process with the UK. Taking account of these events and of the public perception in several other Member States towards the European project, the EESC considers that the European Commission must work to restore a spirit of solidarity and responsibility, and regain public support. The Committee has identified three strategic political priorities around which the Commission should focus its 2017 Work Programme, namely strengthening the economic and social cohesion of the EU, the EU's global role and citizens' ownership of the EU.

  • Published In: 2016
    6 pages
    Employers’ Group of the EESC Political Priorities 2016-2018 What business believes in!

    The publication elaborates on the Employers' Group priorities for 2016-18, which include a stronger culture of entrepreneurship, a full completion of the Internal Market, an efficient and forward-looking industrial policy, competitiveness for more employment and a strong role of Europe in the world. These are the principles that the Group will champion during the 2016-2018 period in order to promote a more dynamic and competitive future for a EU that generates growth, jobs and new investments.

View All