HomePage Banners

Social Pillar


CESlink: Online cooperation between economic and social councils Malta - Presidency of the Council of the European Union

EMAS - Verified environmental management

Register of documents


ISO14001 certified Vinçotte W3C - WAI-AA - WCAG 2.0


2015 EESC Civil Society Prize - Combating poverty

Rewarding excellence in civil society initiatives Brussels
EESC civil society prize 2015

5 organisations are awarded the 2015 EESC Civil Society Prize on combating poverty

The EESC is pleased to announce the winners of the 7th edition of the Civil Society Prize, which rewards initiatives aimed at improving the economic and social inclusion of the people living in poverty and countering the increasing risk of facing poverty in Europe.

A jury composed of the EESC President, the two EESC Vice-Presidents, the President of the Employers' Group, the President of the Various Interests Group, a member of the Workers' Group, and the EESC Secretary-General chose the five winners, based on a shortlist of eleven, put together by a panel of four experts: Ms Jean Lambert MEP; Ms Maureen O'Neill, former EESC member and SOC section President; Mr Stefan Olsson, director at the European Commission, DG Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion; Ms Anne Van Lancker, Belgian politician and former MEP.

The expert panel at the evaluation meeting at the EESC on 20 October 2015. From left to right: Ms O'Neill, Ms Lambert, Ms Van Lancker, Mr op de Beke (representing Mr Olsson)


The work of the assessors and the jury was very challenging and rewarding, considering the high level and quality of the 106 applications received from across the European Union.

The winners, who will share a prize of 50,000 EUR, are five grassroots organisations working to alleviate poverty (in alphabetical order):

A.N.D.E.S. (France) for its initiative Uniterres which provides fresh, quality local produce to social and solidarity-based food shops by local producers of fruits, vegetables, herbs and eggs.

Armut und Gesundheit in Deutschland (Germany), which provides comprehensive medical care for people from deprived backgrounds;

Barka Foundation for Mutual Help (Poland) for its Social Integration Centres which address issues of education and vocational training;

Third Age (Ireland) for its initiative Fáilte Isteach (Welcome In) which welcomes migrants and refugees to Ireland through giving English conversation classes;

Y-Foundation (Finland), which promotes health and social welfare through provision of affordable, good quality rental housing.


The final ranking of the winners will be announced at the prize awards ceremony on 10 December 2015. You can follow the ceremony via webstreaming on this website.