HomePage Banners

Social Pillar


CESlink: Online cooperation between economic and social councils Malta - Presidency of the Council of the European Union

EMAS - Verified environmental management

Register of documents


ISO14001 certified Vinçotte W3C - WAI-AA - WCAG 2.0

4th edition of the EESC Civil Society Prize

European Economic and Social Committee names 2011 winners EESC, 99 rue Belliard, Brussels
EESC President Staffan Nilsson and EESC Vice-President Anna Maria Darmanin with the winners of the 2011 EESC Civil Society Prize

2011 EESC Civil Society Prize
Rewarding excellence in civil society initiatives

Theme of the 2011 prize:
"Dialogue and participation fostering EU values:
integration, diversity, solidarity, tolerance"



Chaired by EESC president Staffan Nilsson, the selection board for the EESC Civil Society Prize was unanimous in choosing the winners of this year's prize. The 2011 EESC Civil Society Prize has been awarded to:

First prize:          Erasmus Student Network (ESN)

Second prize:    European Alternatives

Third prize:        The Organising Bureau of European School Student Unions (OBESSU)

A short video featuring the winners and presenting the projects is available in the 'video' tab.

The Civil Society Prize is primarily a symbol, highlighting outstanding initiatives generated by civil society players in Europe. The overall objective is to reward excellence in civil society initiatives and to celebrate the achievements of civil society organisations which have had the ingenuity to develop projects that have had a positive impact on Europeans' lives, and have significantly contributed to promoting European identity and integration. The specific theme of the 2011 Civil Society Prize was "Dialogue and participation fostering EU values: Integration, diversity, solidarity, tolerance."

With this prize, the EESC aims  to promote greater awareness of the contribution made by civil society organisations to creating a European identity and sense of citizenship, embodying the common values underpinning the European venture.

The prize, of a total value of € 30 000, has been awarded on 7 December 2011 during the EESC's plenary session.


For any further information, please contact:
Mr Patrick FÈVE: Tel.: + 32 (0)2 546 96 16
or Mr Christian WEGER: Tel.: + 32 (0)2 546 95 86
or send an e-mail to:
Civil society prize e-mail

Related Sub themes: Civil Society Prize