HomePage Banners

Your Europe Your Say 2016

CESlink: Online cooperation between economic and social councils Slovakia - Presidency of the Council of the European Union

EMAS - Verified environmental management

Register of documents

 

ISO14001 certified Vinçotte W3C - WAI-AA - WCAG 2.0

-

499th session Plenary Session - Charlemagne Building (European Commission), room S3 - Brussels, Belgium

Opinions in the spotlight

  • 4 Jun 2014
    EU greenhouse gas emission trading scheme Adopted References: NAT/637 EESC-2014-800 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr. Antonello PEZZINI (Employers - GR I / Italy) Plenary Session: 499 - 4 Jun 2014 - 5 Jun 2014 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The Committee considers the European Union's Emissions Trading System (EU ETS) to be a key instrument in EU climate and energy policy for reducing the EU's industrial emissions, and, therefore, calls for its genuine reform aimed at achieving both the EU's climate objectives for 2020 and 2030 while safeguarding our industrial competitiveness and avoiding investment leakage. The EESC supports the proposal to establish a market stability reserve at the beginning of the next ETS trading period in 2021, as a possible measure to deal with post-2020 ETS price volatility.

     

     

     

     

    Related Documents

    EU greenhouse gas emission trading scheme

  • 4 Jun 2014
    Policy Framework for Climate and Energy 2020-2030 Adopted References: NAT/636 EESC-2014-917 Referral - Rapporteur: Ms. Ulla SIRKEINEN (Employers - GR I / Finland) Plenary Session: 499 - 4 Jun 2014 - 5 Jun 2014 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The EESC recommends taking a decisive step towards a real European Energy Community by coordinating national plans, particularly with a view to securing the EU’s energy supply, providing more information on plans to step up action in the non-ETS sector, particularly in the transport, agriculture and land use sectors. And taking radical action on innovation and research as the providers of real solutions to the challenges, in combination with measures to promote the manufacture of equipment for the low carbon economy, while and ensuring that delivery by industry is supported by better training, and making the international development of climate policies the top priority and in parallel paying more attention to adaptation to climate change.

     

     

    Related Documents

    Policy Framework for Climate and Energy 2020-2030

  • 4 Jun 2014
    Exploration of hydrocarbons with fracking Adopted References: NAT/629 EESC-2014-1320 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Josef ZBORIL (Employers - GR I / Czech Republic) Co-rapporteur: Mr Sorin IONITA (Various interests - GR III / Romania) Plenary Session: 499 - 4 Jun 2014 - 5 Jun 2014 (Summary Plenary Session)

    The EESC believes that the Commission's documents (Communication and Recommendations) are based on a realistic view of the subject and that further discussions must be based on facts and findings, but it is also necessary to consider important subjective factors such as the public's perception of risk. The EESC takes a balanced view of the potential role of unconventional hydrocarbons in the EU energy mix.

     

     

    Related Documents

    Exploration of hydrocarbons with fracking

  • 4 Jun 2014
    Youth employment measures - Best practices Adopted References: SOC/503 EESC-2014-474 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Schweng (Employers - GR I / Austria) Plenary Session: 499 - 4 Jun 2014 - 5 Jun 2014 (Summary Plenary Session) OJ C 424, 26.11.2014, p. 1–8

    Youth unemployment is a top policy priority of the EESC. Monitoring youth employment measures closely, the Committee is putting forward recommendations based on current practices in Member States. It also suggests that only a strategy geared towards growth and aimed at strengthening competitiveness and restoring the confidence of investors and households, as well as sustainable investment and an economic recovery plan, can stimulate demand for labour.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Youth employment measures - Best practices

  • 4 Jun 2014
    Transatlantic trade relations and the EESC's views on an enhanced cooperation and eventual EU-US FTA Adopted References: REX/390 EESC-2014-5469 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Krawczyk Jacek (Employers - GR I / Poland) Co-rapporteur: Boyle Sandy (Workers - GR II / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 499 - 4 Jun 2014 - 5 Jun 2014

    The main goal of the opinion is to provide a good and qualitative source of information and opinion in the beginning of TTIP negotiations process.

    Related Documents

    Transatlantic trade relations and the EESC's views on an enhanced cooperation and eventual EU-US FTA

  • 4 Jun 2014
    Energy prices and costs (communication) Adopted References: TEN/547 Referral Rapporteur: Mr Richard Adams (Various interests - GR III / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 499 - 4 Jun 2014 - 5 Jun 2014 Official Journal of the European Union, C 424, 26 November 2014

    Energy prices can comprise an important competitiveness factor for industry. However, an economic analysis of industrial competitiveness should not be limited to energy prices. It is essential to have global coherence in limiting climate change. Leadership by Europe may risk consequences of uncompetitiveness, industrial relocation and carbon export.

    Energy efficiency, renewable energy, and other indigenous sources of energy can all improve security of supply but each have factors of cost, risk, environmental impact and social acceptance attached. As national approaches and attitudes will vary transparent cost analysis and a revision and better coordination of support instruments (like feed-in regulations and tariffs) are vital in determining an acceptable energy mix in each Member State and cooperation with neighbouring countries is equally important.

    Related Documents

    Energy prices and costs (communication)