Opinions on Enterprises & Industry - page 1

Results 1 to 10 out of 180.

  • 17 Sep 2015
    Family Business Adopted References: INT/765 EESC-2015-00722-00-00-AC-TRA Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Klimek (Employers - GR I / Poland) Plenary Session: 510 - 16 Sep 2015 - 17 Sep 2015 (Summary Plenary Session)
  • 17 Sep 2015
    Shifting Economics in the World, Consequences for EU competitiveness (information report) Adopted References: CCMI/134 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr van Iersel (Employers - GR I / Netherlands) Co-rapporteur: Mr Gibellieri (Workers - GR II / Italy)

    Studies point to new dynamics in the world economy with substantial consequences for the competitiveness of national economies. The theme of the information report is inspired by a recent study of the Boston Consulting Group. In analysing in-depth the cost-related aspects in manufacturing among a great many countries the study proves that traditional views about the relationship between the developed and underdeveloped/emerging economies is becoming obsolete. In all groupings there are frontrunners and slow developers...

  • 16 Sep 2015
    Proposals to fight corruption in the EU: meeting business and civil society concerns Adopted References: CCMI/132 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Hamro-Drotz (Employers - GR I / Finland) Co-rapporteur: Mr Gendre (Workers - GR II / France)

    In June 2011, the Commission adopted a Communication on Fighting Corruption in the EU, establishing the EU Anti-Corruption Report to monitor and assess Member States' efforts in this area with a view to developing a stronger political engagement to address corruption effectively. Corruption is defined in the report in a broad sense as "any abuse of power for private gain".

  • 16 Sep 2015
    Contribution of indigenous coal and lignite resources to the EU's energy security (own-initiative opinion) Ongoing References: CCMI/138

    The policy framework for climate and energy in the period from 2020 to 2030, published by the European Commission in January 2014, is mainly concerned with reducing greenhouse gas emissions from the European Union. However, the proposed framework, which is now the subject of much debate, does not ignore the need for competitive and secure energy supplies. On the latter, it proposes that further exploitation of sustainable indigenous energy sources is a necessity, including the exploitation of conventional and non-conventional fossil fuels. Therefore, given that 88% of the EU's conventional energy reserves are in the form of coal and lignite, there is a clear need to consider how these reserves can be exploited sustainably. A report on the future shape of the coal and lignite industry in Europe should be prepared showing the conditions under which it can contribute to competitiveness and security objectives. In the case of security, the European Commission published the EU Energy Security Strategy in May 2014. Various measures are described that would increase the security of energy supply in the European Union.

  • 16 Sep 2015
    Effects of digitalisation on service industries and employment (own-initiative opinion) Adopted References: CCMI/136 Rapporteur: Mr Wolfgang Greif (Workers - GR II / Austria) Co-rapporteur: Mr Leo Hannes (Various interests - GR III / Austria)

    Digital technologies have reached a degree of maturity that allows their use across a wide range of economic sectors in manufacturing as well as in service industries. According to the 2010 edition of the European Working Conditions Survey (EWCS), more than 50% of the EU workforce use ICT in their daily work, with individual EU Member States reaching rates above 85%. Services sectors are identified as the heaviest users of ICT (for instance, more than 90% of finance employees using ICTS in their daily work), which is to be seen as a natural consequence of the increasing digitalisation of many services – such as eBanking, eCommerce, and online media. 

  • 16 Sep 2015
    Prospects for long-term smart, sustainable development of European offshore industry and its relations with the EU's maritime sectors (own-initiative opinion) Adopted References: CCMI/135 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Marian Krzaklewski (Workers - GR II / Poland) Co-rapporteur: Mr. José Leirião (Various interests - GR III / Portugal)

    The offshore industry comprises offshore energy production, together with the gas, oil and minerals extraction sectors. Some of the most rapidly developing markets are linked to these sectors, offering potential for long-term sustainable and smart growth. Maritime industries linked to the European offshore industry, including sectors such as shipbuilding, ship repairs and conversion, marine equipment and shipping supplies, have both specialist expertise and the requisite human potential enabling them to tap into markets linked to offshore sectors.

  • 16 Sep 2015
    Creative and cultural industries – a European asset to be used in global competition (own-initiative opinion) Adopted References: CCMI/137 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Ms Emmanuelle Butaud-Stubbs (Employers - GR I / France) Co-rapporteur: Mr Nicola Konstantinou (Workers - GR II / Greece)

    The Commission’s 2012 Communication on "promoting the cultural and creative sectors for growth and jobs in the European Union" was a milestone in the recognition of the economic, social and cultural importance of these industries by the European institutions. This Communication was accompanied by two staff working documents (SWD) — one relating to the competitiveness of high-end industries , and the other to the competitiveness of the European fashion sector . This was followed by an action plan on the competitiveness of high-end industries and the European fashion sector.

  • 18 May 2015
    Strengthening the European chemical industry's innovative capacity and competitiveness through nanotechnology (own initiative opinion) Ongoing References: CCMI/140 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Biermann (Workers - GR II / Germany) Co-rapporteur: Misiunas (Employers - GR I / Lithuania)

    The development of global markets is fuelling demand for energy, raw materials, food, medical supplies and transport. Yet climate change, limits to the regenerative capacity of ecosystems, and scarcity of raw materials necessitate smart and responsible use of natural resources.

  • 22 Apr 2015
    An industrial policy for the European glass sector Adopted References: CCMI/127 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Zboril Josef (Employers - GR I / Czech Republic) Co-rapporteur: Gibellieri Enrico (Workers - GR II / Italy)

    The glass industry is being doubly impacted by the economic crisis, since its activity relies heavily on the economic health of other sectors such as the construction and automotive sectors. Weak economic growth and slowing domestic demand are specifically due to the austerity policies coordinated at European level and together account for the crisis that is affecting the sector.



  • 18 Feb 2015
    Emission limits and type-approval / NRMM Adopted References: INT/763 EESC-2014-06067-00-00-ac-tra Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Brendan Burns (Employers - GR I / United Kingdom) Plenary Session: 505 - 18 Feb 2015 - 19 Feb 2015 (Summary Plenary Session) OJ C 251, 31.7.2015, p. 31–33

Results 1 to 10 out of 180.

RSS Feed View All