Opinions on Enterprises & Industry - page 1

Results 1 to 10 out of 183.

  • 19 Jan 2016
    Portability of online content services Ongoing References: INT/781 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Hernández Bataller (Various interests - GR III)
  • 19 Jan 2016
    Company law Ongoing References: INT/780 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Pegado Liz (Various interests - GR III / Portugal) Co-rapporteur: Mr Barker and Mr Lefevre
  • 10 Dec 2015
    The role of engineers in reindustrialising Europe (own-initiative opinion) Adopted References: CCMI/139

    There is an urgent need to reindustrialise Europe. In order to achieve this the engineering and technical professions should be focused. These professions are indispensable in developing innovative production methods and products. However, without appropriate human resources and their potential, experience and knowledge, this goal is not to be achieved. Industry and companies should introduce communication policy to emphasise the attractiveness of the industrial sector; the crucial role belongs to industry associations. Better dialogue between companies and organisations in charge of vocational training might be an important step in facing the employment creation issue. What is more it could reduce differences between demand and supply.

  • 9 Dec 2015
    Strengthening the European chemical industry's innovative capacity and competitiveness through nanotechnology (own initiative opinion) Adopted References: CCMI/140 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Biermann (Workers - GR II / Germany) Co-rapporteur: Misiunas (Employers - GR I / Lithuania)

    The development of global markets is fuelling demand for energy, raw materials, food, medical supplies and transport. Yet climate change, limits to the regenerative capacity of ecosystems, and scarcity of raw materials necessitate smart and responsible use of natural resources.

  • 7 Oct 2015
    Circular Economy Package (Rolling Programme) Ongoing References: NAT/676 Referral - Rapporteur: Lohan (Various interests - GR III / Ireland)
  • 17 Sep 2015
    Corporate social and societal responsibility Adopted References: REX/443 Rapporteur: Ms Evelyne Pichenot (Various interests - GR III / France) Plenary Session: 510 - 16 Sep 2015 - 17 Sep 2015

    The Information Report can serve as a tool to promote and share the rich experience of the EU and its Member States in the area of CSR with partner countries and their civil society. It can provide a basis for discussion in EESC dialogues with partner countries, as well as the Committee's contribution to the work of the monitoring mechanisms established by the recently negotiated EU trade agreements.

  • 17 Sep 2015
    Family Business Adopted References: INT/765 EESC-2015-00722-00-00-AC-TRA Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Klimek (Employers - GR I / Poland) Plenary Session: 510 - 16 Sep 2015 - 17 Sep 2015 (Summary Plenary Session) OJ C 13, 15.1.2016, p. 8
  • 17 Sep 2015
    Shifting Economics in the World, Consequences for EU competitiveness (information report) Adopted References: CCMI/134 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr van Iersel (Employers - GR I / Netherlands) Co-rapporteur: Mr Gibellieri (Workers - GR II / Italy)

    Studies point to new dynamics in the world economy with substantial consequences for the competitiveness of national economies. The theme of the information report is inspired by a recent study of the Boston Consulting Group. In analysing in-depth the cost-related aspects in manufacturing among a great many countries the study proves that traditional views about the relationship between the developed and underdeveloped/emerging economies is becoming obsolete. In all groupings there are frontrunners and slow developers...

  • 16 Sep 2015
    Proposals to fight corruption in the EU: meeting business and civil society concerns Adopted References: CCMI/132 Own-initiative Rapporteur: Mr Hamro-Drotz (Employers - GR I / Finland) Co-rapporteur: Mr Gendre (Workers - GR II / France)

    In June 2011, the Commission adopted a Communication on Fighting Corruption in the EU, establishing the EU Anti-Corruption Report to monitor and assess Member States' efforts in this area with a view to developing a stronger political engagement to address corruption effectively. Corruption is defined in the report in a broad sense as "any abuse of power for private gain".

  • 16 Sep 2015
    Contribution of indigenous coal and lignite resources to the EU's energy security (own-initiative opinion) Ongoing References: CCMI/138

    The policy framework for climate and energy in the period from 2020 to 2030, published by the European Commission in January 2014, is mainly concerned with reducing greenhouse gas emissions from the European Union. However, the proposed framework, which is now the subject of much debate, does not ignore the need for competitive and secure energy supplies. On the latter, it proposes that further exploitation of sustainable indigenous energy sources is a necessity, including the exploitation of conventional and non-conventional fossil fuels. Therefore, given that 88% of the EU's conventional energy reserves are in the form of coal and lignite, there is a clear need to consider how these reserves can be exploited sustainably. A report on the future shape of the coal and lignite industry in Europe should be prepared showing the conditions under which it can contribute to competitiveness and security objectives. In the case of security, the European Commission published the EU Energy Security Strategy in May 2014. Various measures are described that would increase the security of energy supply in the European Union.

Results 1 to 10 out of 183.