Opinions on Enterprises & Industry - page 1

Results 1 to 10 out of 193.

  • 25 May 2016
    Indigenous coal in the EU energy transition (own-initiative opinion) Adopted References: CCMI/138 EESC-2016 Own-initiative Co-rapporteur: Ms Renata Eisenvortova (Employers - GR I / Czech Republic) General Rapporteur: Mr Dumitru Fornea (Workers - GR II / Romania) Plenary Session: 25 May 2016 - 26 May 2016

    During the energy transition towards the low-emission economy, the EU energy system faces a period of profound technological, economic and social change that will affect many of the energy sectors, including the coal industry and hence the coal-mining regions of the EU.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Indigenous coal in the EU energy transition (own-initiative opinion)

  • 24 May 2016
    Unjustified geo-blocking/Digital Ongoing References: INT/797 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr van Iersel (Employers - GR I / Netherlands)
  • 24 May 2016
    European standards for the 21st Century Ongoing References: INT/794 Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Pezzini (Employers - GR I / Italy)
  • 28 Apr 2016
    Future proof regulation Ongoing References: SC/045 Exploratory Opinion Rapporteur: Mr Christian Moos (Various interests - GR III / Germany) Co-rapporteur: Mr Denis Meynent (Workers - GR II / France)
  • 27 Apr 2016
    Portability of online content services Adopted References: INT/781 EESC-2016-00719-00-00-AC-TRA Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Hernández Bataller (Various interests - GR III) Plenary Session: 516 - 27 Apr 2016 - 28 Apr 2016

    The EESC welcomes the Commission's initiative to address "cross-border portability" through a regulation, but considers it necessary for a subscriber's "Member State of residence" to be clearly defined. The vacatio legis period of six months would be for the EESC a reasonable period for the service providers concerned to adapt their delivery systems to the new situation.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Portability of online content services

  • 27 Apr 2016
    Circular Economy Package (Rolling Programme) Adopted References: NAT/676 EESC-2016-00042-00-01-AC-TRA Referral - Rapporteur: Lohan (Various interests - GR III / Ireland) Plenary Session: 516 - 27 Apr 2016 - 28 Apr 2016

    The EESC fully backs the objective of switching to a greener, resource-efficient and circular economy. It is happy to see that the Commission has come forward with a broader set of proposals covering all the stages of the product lifecycle compared to the previous circular economy package; however, it raises concern over the lower level of ambition, which is likely to lead to lower economic and environmental benefits. The opinion on the Commission's circular economy package includes a number of key recommendations, in particular addressing the Action Plan and upcoming legislative initiatives; among these recommendations, the EESC suggests the creation of a European platform of stakeholders involved in the circular economy to address strategic issues associated with the resource-efficiency transition and keep the political momentum high.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Circular Economy Package (Rolling Programme)

  • 27 Apr 2016
    Company law Adopted References: INT/780 EESC-2016-00895-00-00-AC-TRA Referral - Rapporteur: Mr Pegado Liz (Various interests - GR III / Portugal) Co-rapporteur: Mr Barker and Mr Lefevre Plenary Session: 516 - 27 Apr 2016 - 28 Apr 2016

    The EESC fully supports the consolidation, codification and thereby simplification of the text of the proposal relating to certain aspects of company law. The EESC would also have wished for a more ambitious exercise that aimed to codify aspects that are still spread across other legislative instruments.

    Related Documents

    EESC opinion: Company law

  • 15 Mar 2016
    Steel: Preserving sustainable jobs and growth in Europe Ongoing References: CCMI/146 Referral - Rapporteur: Andrés Barceló Delgado (Employers - GR I / Spain) Co-rapporteur: Enrico Gibellieri (Italy)

    The steel industry is confronted to serious short-term and long-term challenges basically fuelled by global overcapacity, a dramatic increase of exports and an unprecedented wave of unfair trading practices. These challenges require a forceful response at the European level. The Commission proposal focuses on new short-term measures to strengthen the EU's defence against unfair trade practices, as well as on international negotiations to tackle the causes of global overcapacity. Longer-term actions are also put forward to guarantee the long-term competitiveness and sustainability of steel industry such as: Investing in future solutions and technologies to develop technology and quality; investing in people (skilled and well-trained workforce); and focusing policies in key areas like competition, energy, emissions trading and the circular economy.

    Related Documents

    Steel: Preserving sustainable jobs and growth in Europe

  • 16 Feb 2016
    Regulation on mercury Ongoing References: NAT/687 Referral - Rapporteur: Vladimír Novotný (Employers - GR I / Czech Republic)

    Related Documents

    Information memo: Regulation on mercury

  • 19 Jan 2016
    Information Report on the impact on key industrial sectors, (and on jobs and growth) of the possible granting of market economy treatment to China (for the purpose of trade defence instruments) Ongoing References: CCMI/144 Rapporteur: Andrés Barceló Delgado (Employers - GR I / Spain) Co-rapporteur: Gerald Kreuzer (Workers - GR II / Austria)

    In 2011, the EESC adopted a CCMI own-initiative opinion on "Third-country state-owned enterprises in EU public procurement markets, which highlighted the need to counter "unfair competition practices" that could affect key EU industries (CCMI/082). On 9 November 2015, the special Competiveness Council examined "competitive pressure factors" facing the European steel industry and other key industrial sectors connected such as the automobile industry, railways, construction, electronics, mechanical and electrical engineering, arising from the dumping of cheap, subsidized Chinese steel on the European market.

     

    Related Documents

    Information Report on the impact on key industrial sectors, (and on jobs and growth) of the possible granting of market economy treatment to China (for the purpose of trade defence instruments)

Results 1 to 10 out of 193.

RSS Feed View All