Europeiska ekonomiska samarbetsområdet

This page is also available in

Europeiska ekonomiska samarbetsområdet (EES) samlar EU:s medlemsstater och de tre Eftastaterna i EES (Island, Liechtenstein och Norge) i en inre marknad som styrs av gemensamma grundläggande regler. Dessa regler syftar till att varor, tjänster, kapital och människor ska kunna röra sig fritt inom EES i en öppen och konkurrensutsatt miljö. Avtalet om Europeiska ekonomiska samarbetsområdet trädde i kraft den 1 januari 1994.

Rådgivande EES-kommittén ingår i EES avtalet (artikel 96) och inrättades 1994.

Displaying 1 - 7 of 7

The European Economic Area Consultative Committee (EEA CC) held on 18 September 2020 its 28th annual meeting to discuss two resolutions linked to the implementation of the Green Deal initiative and the EU’s New Industrial Strategy. The members of the EEA CC, which represents employers, workers, and other civil society players of EEA member states, agreed on the need to extend the Green Deal to the entire EEA to achieve a more sustainable single market.


At its plenary session in July, the European Economic and Social Committee presented proposals for the economic agenda of the upcoming legislative period (2019-2024) and recommended that they should form the basis of a new European economic strategy. The Committee's proposals seek to develop more resilient and sustainable EU economic policies within an improved governance framework for the Economic and Monetary Union.


The euro ranks second in the world as a reserve currency and as a currency used for fixed income securities issues and international trade transactions. However, its use internationally has yet to return to levels before the financial crisis, and its future role in the international monetary system is tied to the economic prospects of the euro area.