Bulgarian member Milena Angelova elected as vice-president of the European Economic and Social Committee

This page is also available in

Brussels: 26/03/2018 EESC- Photo session – future Vice-president for Budget Ms Angelova credit: Sierakowski / Isopix

Milena Angelova from Bulgaria, member of the Employers' Group, will be one of the two vice-presidents of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) for a two-and-a-half year term from 2018 to 2020. She will be responsible for budget matters. She will fill one of the senior positions in the EESC along with the newly elected president Luca Jahier from Italy, former president of the Various Interests' Group, and vice-president Isabel Caño Aguilar from Spain, member of the Workers' Group, who will be the vice-president for communication matters. The new president and vice-presidents were elected on 18 April as part of the Committee's mid-term renewal session marking the half-way stage in its five-year term of office.

After her election, the vice-president in charge of budget, Milena Angelova, said: "The European Economic and Social Committee has a unique and key role to play being in a position to present the balanced view of the social partners and organised civil society on how to work together more effectively in order to achieve a more united and more federal Europe, which is able to make the best use of the opportunities presented by the Fourth Industrial Revolution, artificial intelligence and digitalisation, and to cope with the challenges of growing fear, xenophobia and migration. We should aim for a more focused and more effective Europe, and to "doing less more efficiently'. In this regard, I believe the motto of the current Bulgarian Presidency of the Council of the European Union – United we stand strong - is directly relevant and should be fully endorsed."

As the Committee embarks on the second half of its five-year term, it will as always be working hard to  strengthen  the voice of civil society and bring Europe closer to its citizens.


  • The EESC is made up of 350 members from its 28 Member States. Nominated by their national governments, they are appointed by the Council of the European Union for a period of five years. They then work independently in the interests of all EU citizens. These members are not politicians but employers, trade unionists and representatives of various activities, such as farmer, consumer and environmental organisations, the social economy, SMEs, the liberal professions and associations representing persons with disabilities, the voluntary sector, gender equality, youth, academia, etc.