Zdravje

This page is also available in

Displaying 11 - 20 of 69

Pages

Opinion
Sprejeta on 19/01/2022
Referenca: 
SOC/687-EESC-2021
Plenarno zasedanje: 
566 -
Jan 19, 2022 Jan 20, 2022

This Own-initiative Opinion analyses  the structural causes that have led to the elderly care systems in general and to the nursing homes in particular, to become some of the most contagious and lethal factors of this pandemic. To this end, the different systems that exist in EU Member States are compared to learn useful lessons.

In addition, the opinion calls for the need to address the demographic transition as one of the major challenges of the twenty-first century, alongside environmental and digital transitions.

Mnenje EESO: Towards a New Care Model for the Elderly: learning from the Covid-19 pandemic (own-initiative opinion - Gr III)

Opinion
Sprejeta on 20/10/2021
Referenca: 
SOC/698-EESC-2021
Plenarno zasedanje: 
564 -
Oct 20, 2021 Oct 21, 2021

This opinion comments on the new EU strategic framework on health and safety at work for the period 2021-2027. The framework sets out the key actions needed to improve workers' health and safety over the coming years and focuses on three objectives: managing change brought by green, digital and demographic transitions as well as changes to the traditional work environment, improving prevention of accidents and illnesses, and increasing preparedness for any potential future crises. The EESC broadly agrees with the vision set out in the strategic framework but proposes also additional measures and initiatives to be integrated in the strategy.

Mnenje EESO: Health & Safety at Work – EU Strategic Framework (2021-2027)

Opinion
Sprejeta on 07/07/2021
Referenca: 
SOC/680-EESC-2021
Plenarno zasedanje: 
562 -
Jul 07, 2021 Jul 08, 2021

The EESC welcomes the new EU Disability Rights Strategy, acknowledging that it is a clear step forward compared with the previous one. It is however concerned about the lack of binding measures and hard legislation implementing the Strategy.

Among other recommendations, the Committee regrets the lack of specific actions addressing the needs of women and girls with disabilities and calls for a specific flagship initiative in the second half of the period of the Strategy. It also calls for the  full involvement and participation of organisations of persons with disabilities in the proposed Disability Platform. As regarding the Recovery and Resilience Facility (RRF), the EESC feels it  should be strongly linked to the Disability Strategy and used to help persons with disabilities recovering from the pandemic.

Mnenje EESO: Strategy on the rights of persons with disabilities

Opinion
Sprejeta on 09/06/2021
Referenca: 
SOC/677-EESC-2021

In this opinion the EESC:

  • Welcomes Europe's Beating Cancer Plan as a milestone in the fight against cancer and calls for a concrete roadmap for its implementation, with performance indicators, realistic timeframes and close involvement of Social Partners (SP) and Civil Society Organisations (CSO).
  • Considers important that the EU and Member States ensure  the availability of igh-quality, accessible healthcare infrastructure and effective support systems for patients' physical and mental well-being.
  • Asks for the negative consequences caused by the COVID-19 pandemic in accessing to health services to be urgently addressed, recognising as well the supportive role SP and CSO can play in this area. 

Mnenje EESO: Europe's beating cancer plan

Opinion
Sprejeta on 27/04/2021
Referenca: 
INT/950-EESC-2021-01784-00-00-AC-TRA

The EESC believes that evidence based processes like Health Technology Assessment (HTA) that is a key driver for socio-economic growth and innovation in the Union can be achieved through cooperation between Member States at Union level aiming at a high protection of health for patients and ensuring the smooth functioning of an inclusive Single Market. It is concerned about the set timelines of implementation and especially the delayed application of three years and believes that for the benefit of the patients and cost-effectiveness this could be shortened. In order to achieve the promise of digital health and care, of which HTA is part, the involvement of civil society is crucial.

Mnenje EESO: Health technology assessment / Compromise

Downloads: 

Council of the EU compromise on COM(2018) 51 final – 2018/0018 (COD)

Opinion
Sprejeta on 27/04/2021
Referenca: 
SOC/665-EESC-2020

The opinion, presenting EESC's position on the four proposals of the Health package published by the European  Commission in November 2020, supports and welcomes these initiatives but draws the attention on some elements.

  • The EU and Member States should ensure that everyone has equal access to quality, well staffed, well equipped health and social services. This is particularly important in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic which has deepened existing inequalities.
  • Special attention in future EU policies should be given to healthcare workers and the need to improve working conditions, including pay, recruitment and retention, as well as their health and safety.
  • The new EU health package should be combined with the roll-out of the European Pillar of Social Rights (EPSR), particularly its principles 12, 16, 17 and 18 and the Action Plan on the EPSR. It should also be part of achieving Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 3.

Mnenje EESO: Building a European Health Union

Opinion
Sprejeta on 29/10/2020
Referenca: 
NAT/798-EESC-2020

The revamped Union Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM) is a tool through which the EU supports, coordinates and supplements actions of EU Member States in the field of civil protection in order to prevent, prepare and respond to natural and man-made disasters within and outside the EU. The new proposal aims to strengthen the UCPM to ensure that the EU and its Member States are better prepared to respond to large-scale emergencies such as the COVID-19 pandemic.

Mnenje EESO: Union Civil Protection Mechanism

Opinion
Sprejeta on 15/07/2020
Referenca: 
ECO/523-EESC-2020-02886-00-00-AC-TRA

The EESC strongly supports the Commission's proposal – Next Generation EU – as a specific tool for a quick and effective recovery.

The EESC takes a very positive view of the Commission's two main decisions:

  1. to introduce an extraordinary financial recovery instrument as part of the multiannual financial framework
  2. to raise common debt, which will be repaid over a long period of time, and prevent the extraordinary financial burden from falling directly on the Member States in the short run.

The EESC strongly welcomes the fact that the newly proposed instrument should be closely coordinated with the European Semester process, and furthermore welcomes the Commission's proposal to introduce additional genuine own resources based on different taxes (revenues from the EU Emissions Trading System, digital taxation, large companies' revenues).

Mnenje EESO: Recovery plan for Europe and the Multiannual Financial Framework 2021-2027

Pages