EUROMED

This page is also available in

Relations between the EU and its southern neighbours constitute one of our priorities. Our work covers a wide variety of areas, such as the participation of civil society in political and civil dialogue, democratic transition, youth employment, sustainable development, mobility and immigration, trade, renewable energy and business development.

The EESC has been working on these issues since 1995. Following changes in the region in 2010, we have adjusted our objectives accordingly, aiming to:

  • Support civil society organisations in countries undergoing transition. Such support is targeted, in particular, at trade unions and employers’ organisations, as well as women’s, youth and farmers’ associations.
  • Maintain bilateral relations with national economic and social councils in the region, and work towards creating conditions for the inclusion of civil society in political dialogue in the southern partner countries.
  • Issue opinions and joint reports on the key policy challenges facing the region.
  • Hold regular meetings with European institutions and international organisations to discuss the policies concerning civil society across the region.
  • Organise an annual summit for economic and social councils and similar institutions, at which key policy recommendations on the region’s main challenges are put to policy-makers from national governments and the EU.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 26

Pages

Opinion
Przyjęte on 09/10/2014
Sygnatura: 
REX/399-EESC

The information report will seek to take a holistic approach to situation of young people in the north and south of the region, looking not just at the employment market but at wider trends amongst young people also outside of work, their self-perception, their political and social outlook on the future, their living arrangements, their view of their parents' generation and other older generations, as well as their view of the region and its role in a globalised world.

The Economic and Social Situation of young people in the Euromed region

Opinion
Przyjęte on 11/09/2014
Sygnatura: 
REX/414-EESC-0000

The aim of the opinion is to call on the representatives of the European Community institutions and national government to take account of the key role of the social partners and organised civil society in providing European immigration policies with a social dimension and added value.

 

European immigration policies

Opinion
Przyjęte on 09/07/2014
Sygnatura: 
REX/398-EESC-2014-873
Sesja plenarna: 
500 -
Jul 09, 2014 Jul 10, 2014

The exploratory opinion is being drawn up at the request of the Greek Presidency of the European Union. Immigration-related issues remain a key challenge for the European Union and its Member States with a comprehensive and common strategy at EU level remaining elusive, in spite of the continued pressures that are being felt on the EU's borders.

European Immigration policy and relationship with third countries

Opinion
Przyjęte on 17/10/2013
Sygnatura: 
REX/375-EESC-2013-2533
Sesja plenarna: 
493 -
Oct 16, 2013 Oct 17, 2013

The opinion will set out civil society's perspective on the dual challenge which EU Member States face in dealing with recent waves of immigrants and at the same time fulfilling - or in some cases failing to fulfil - their duty in guaranteeing immigrants' human rights, be it in detention or whilst on high seas. This issue is particularly topical since the European Commission and European Court of Justice are coming increasingly under pressure to act against Member States that fail to meet EU rules.

Irregular immigration by sea in the Euro-Mediterranean region

Opinion
Przyjęte on 21/09/2011
Sygnatura: 
REX/341-EESC-2011-1395
Sesja plenarna: 
474 -
Sep 21, 2011 Sep 22, 2011

This opinion is the EESC's key response to the events in the Euromed region. It provides a thorough analysis of the EU's past failings and the lessons which need to be drawn from them, the most urgent needs facing civil society in the current transition phase, and the longer term perspectives for civil society in the region. The opinion also responds to the two joint communications issued by the European Commission and EEAS on the EU's new Euromed policy, calling for close cooperation between the EU institutions in the region

Civil society in the Euromed region

Opinion
Przyjęte on 21/09/2011
Sygnatura: 
REX/329-EESC-2011-1394
Sesja plenarna: 
474 -
Sep 21, 2011 Sep 22, 2011

The central message of this exploratory opinion is the need for a coordinated approach on renewable energies in the region, one that is based on co-development.

Renewable energy in Euromed

Opinion
Przyjęte on 21/09/2011
Sygnatura: 
REX/330-EESC-2011-425
Sesja plenarna: 
474 -
Sep 21, 2011 Sep 22, 2011

The opinion examines what has become a key sector in the Euromed region. The uprisings in the Euromed region, besides putting the spotlight on the abuses of autocratic dictators, have also drawn attention to the urgent need for economic and social development, especially in rural areas. Food insecurity and high food prices are set to remain a problem in the region.

Rural development and employment in the Euromed region

Opinion
Przyjęte on 15/03/2011
Sygnatura: 
/-EESC-0000
Sesja plenarna: 
470 -
Mar 15, 2011 Mar 16, 2011

"The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) expresses its solidarity with the people of the southern Mediterranean countries who are peacefully struggling for their fundamental rights and freedoms, and supports their legitimate aim of establishing stable democracies in their countries. ..."

Resolution on The situation in the southern Mediterranean countries

Downloads: 

Resolution on The situation in the southern Mediterranean countries

Pages