Trans-Atlantische betrekkingen

This page is also available in

Democratie, mensenrechten, economische en politieke vrijheid zijn gemeenschappelijke waarden van de EU, de VS en Canada, die ook overlappende belangen hebben op het gebied van buitenlands beleid en veiligheid. De VS en Canada behoren tot de voornaamste handelspartners van de EU en zijn ook partners bij het vormgeven van de internationale rechtsorde. De betrekkingen tussen de EU en de VS zijn onder een nieuw gesternte komen te staan, met steeds grotere uitdagingen. We zijn van mening dat de betrokkenheid van het maatschappelijk middenveld bij deze betrekkingen ervoor zorgt dat de trans-Atlantische betrekkingen aan de verwachtingen van de burgers voldoen en effectief bijdragen aan het vormgeven van een samenwerking die voor beide partijen voordelig is.

De Brede Economische en Handelsovereenkomst (CETA) tussen de EU en Canada en de overeenkomst inzake een strategisch partnerschap werden ondertekend op 30 oktober 2016. We zien uit naar constante betrokkenheid van het maatschappelijk middenveld bij de tenuitvoerlegging van deze overeenkomsten. Momenteel zijn de onderhandelingen over een Trans-Atlantisch Partnerschap voor handel en investeringen (TTIP) tussen de EU en de VS tot stilstand gekomen. De TTIP-onderhandelingen hebben echter bijgedragen aan de versterking van de banden tussen de maatschappelijke middenvelden van de EU en de VS en heeft hen geholpen hun standpunten te bepalen over de vraag hoe de toekomstige handelsbetrekkingen tussen de EU en de VS eruit zouden moeten zien. Hetgeen tot nu toe is bereikt mag niet verloren gaan. Ons follow-upcomité Trans-Atlantische betrekkingen werd in september 2014 opgericht met als opdracht toe te zien op de trans-Atlantische betrekkingen met het maatschappelijk middenveld en te zorgen voor een regelmatige dialoog en overleg over kwesties die verband houden met de betrekkingen met de VS en Canada.

Displaying 1 - 6 of 6
Opinion
In voorbereiding (updated on 14/09/2021)
Referentie: 
REX/534-EESC-2021
Zitting: 
565 -
Dec 08, 2021 Dec 09, 2021

informatieve nota: A strong transatlantic partnership based on the common values of democracy and the rule of law, key in tackling global challenges and preserving international order (own-initiative opinion)

Opinion
Goedgekeurd on 21/09/2016
Referentie: 
REX/471-EESC-2016

On 12 June 2014, the Commission presented a proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council codifying Council Regulation (EC) No 673/2005 of 25 April 2005 establishing additional customs duties on imports of certain products originating in the United States of America.

advies EESC: Imports of certain products originating in the United States of America (codification)

Opinion
Goedgekeurd on 21/09/2016
Referentie: 
REX/464-EESC-2016

The EESC has played an important role in strengthening an informed civil society debate on the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) through a number of TTIP-related opinions, adopted in 2014 and 2015, covering issues such as labour rights, investment protection, impact on SMEs, among others.

It is important under the present circumstances that the EESC, in order to maintain its position as a key civil society player in the TTIP debate, react to the textual proposals for TTIP negotiations on essential topics such as the sustainable development chapter, regulatory cooperation, investment and services. This will have the advantage not only of setting up the EESC position on major negotiating chapters but also of presenting concrete recommendations and pointing out the need to involve civil society in the implementation of those chapters.

advies EESC: The position of the EESC on specific key issues of the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) negotiations (own-initiative opinion)

Opinion
Goedgekeurd on 02/07/2015
Referentie: 
REX/433-EESC-0000
Zitting: 
509 -
Jul 01, 2015 Jul 02, 2015

The own-initiative opinion will focus on the impact of the TTIP on SMEs and reflect on the provisions that would need to be included in the TTIP in order to take account of the specific character of SMEs in the negotiations and implementation of an eventual EU-US agreement. The opinion will also look at how to increase the awareness of SMEs as to existing support services and programmes, and particularly about the new business opportunities that may arise with this agreement.

TTIP and its impact on SMEs

Opinion
Goedgekeurd on 27/05/2015
Referentie: 
REX/411-EESC-0000
Zitting: 
508 -
May 27, 2015 May 28, 2015

Since the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty, the investment policy is an exclusive competence of the European Union. The EU is aiming to include therefore in the new trade and investment agreements provisions on investor protection and investor to state dispute settlement (ISDS) which will replace existing Bilateral Investment Agreements (BIT) signed by Member States and will grant the same level of protection to all EU investors.

Investor protection and investor to State dispute settlement in EU trade and investment agreements with third countries

Downloads: 

CP 33 EN TTIP

Opinion
Goedgekeurd on 04/06/2014
Referentie: 
REX/390-EESC-2014-5469
Zitting: 
499 -
Jun 04, 2014 Jun 05, 2014

The main goal of the opinion is to provide a good and qualitative source of information and opinion in the beginning of TTIP negotiations process.

Transatlantic trade relations and the EESC's views on an enhanced cooperation and eventual EU-US FTA