Azië en de Stille Oceaan

This page is also available in:

In Azië onderhoudt het EESC betrekkingen met organisaties uit het maatschappelijk middenveld in China, Japan, Singapore, Zuid-Korea en Vietnam.

Een rondetafel van het maatschappelijk middenveld met China werd opgericht in 2007, na de negende EU-China-top, en komt eenmaal per jaar bijeen.

In februari 2009 is een follow-upcomité met Japan opgericht om toezicht te houden op de maatschappelijke dimensie van de betrekkingen tussen de EU en Japan en om de samenwerking tussen het EESC en het bedrijfsleven, werknemers-, milieu- en consumentenorganisaties en andere belangrijke maatschappelijke organisaties in Japan te bevorderen. In het kader van de economische partnerschapsovereenkomst tussen de EU en Japan is een interne adviesgroep EU-Japan opgericht, die het maatschappelijk middenveld in het kader van het hoofdstuk over handel en duurzame ontwikkeling een toezichthoudende en adviserende rol toebedeelt.

De EU heeft vrijhandelsovereenkomsten gesloten met de volgende Aziatische landen: Zuid-Korea (2011), Japan (2019), Singapore (2019) en Vietnam (2020). Deze overeenkomsten worden gekenmerkt door de opname van hoofdstukken over handel en duurzame ontwikkeling, en geven het EESC en andere maatschappelijke organisaties – samen met de organisaties van het maatschappelijk middenveld in de partnerlanden – een formele rol bij het toezicht op de tenuitvoerlegging ervan en bij het adviseren van de betrokken politieke autoriteiten op het gebied van maatschappelijke, milieu- en arbeidsnormen en andere zaken die van direct belang zijn voor het maatschappelijk middenveld. Een en ander gebeurt via de interne adviesgroepen (DAG’s). Elk jaar worden twee tot drie vergaderingen van de interne adviesgroepen van de EU gehouden, en eenmaal per jaar vindt een gezamenlijke vergadering plaats.

Het EESC legt daarnaast contacten met het maatschappelijk middenveld in andere Aziatische landen en bij relevante internationale evenementen, op ad-hocbasis.

Displaying 1 - 10 of 10
  • Adopted on 27/04/2021 - Bureau decision date: 01/12/2020
    Referentie
    INT/930-EESC-2020-01-01
    Workers - GR II
    Malta

    The Communication stresses the EU's commitment to safeguarding an online environment providing the highest possible freedom and security, for the benefit of its citizens.

    EESC opinion: Communication on cybersecurity strategy
  • Adopted on 26/04/2017 - Bureau decision date: 13/12/2016
    Referentie
    REX/484-EESC-2017
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Romania
    (Romania

    The 2030 Agenda, the new global framework for sustainable development agreed by the UN in 2015, needs to be reflected in EU's development policy, the major orientations of which are set out in the 2005 European Consensus on Development ("the Consensus").

    To this end, the Commission issued Communication COM(2016) 740, "Proposal for a New European Consensus on Development: Our World, Our Dignity, Our Future" in November 2016.  Interinstitutional negotiations are expected to result in its endorsement in the form of a Joint Statement by the Council, the European Parliament and the Commission, in May 2017.

    EESC opinion: Proposal for a new European Consensus on Development: "Our World, our Dignity, our Future” (Communication)
  • Adopted on 13/07/2016 - Bureau decision date: 19/01/2016
    Referentie
    CCMI/144-EESC-2016-01-01
    Employers - GR I
    Spain
    (Austria

    The European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) warns against granting China market economy status (MES) and  calls on the European institutions to promote fair international competition and actively defend European jobs and European values with efficient trade defence instruments (TDIs). In its opinion, adopted at its 514th plenary session on 14th July, the EESC points to the disastrous impact a possible granting of MES to China would have on Europe's industry and consequently on Europe's labour market. The EESC insists on China's fulfilment of the five EU criteria for achieving the MES.

    EESC opinion: The impact on key industrial sectors (and on jobs and growth) of the possible granting of market economy treatment to China (for the purpose of trade defence instruments) (own-initiative opinion)
  • Adopted on 14/01/2015
    Referentie
    REX/421-EESC-2014-01-01-6716
    Employers - GR I
    United Kingdom
    Workers - GR II
    Romania
    Plenary session number
    504
    -

    The main aim of the review is to assess whether all existing priorities of the EU-Central Asia Strategy remain valid, and whether the EU should maintain its current focus on issues such as security, education, sustainable development (energy, transport and environment), and the rule of law.

  • Adopted on 21/01/2014
    Referentie
    REX/389-EESC-0000-01-01
    Workers - GR II
    France
    Employers - GR I
    Estonia

    This own initiative opinion looks to examine the agreement already under negotiation between EU and Japan (being the third non-European EU trade partner) and in particular its economic, social and environmental consequences. This agreement is not only dealing with trade, but will have on societies expected consequences to be enlightened and taken in account by negotiators. The automobile sector, public procurement, services, agricultural and pharmaceutical products sectors are, among others, concerned.

  • Adopted on 27/10/2011
    Referentie
    REX/316-EESC-2011-01-01-1612
    Employers - GR I
    United Kingdom
    Plenary session number
    475
    -
    An EU-India Free Trade Agreement (FTA) would cover over a fifth of the global population, making it one of the most significant FTAs in the world. It has the potential to bring significant benefits for society to both the EU and India. However, the EESC is concerned with its uncertain social and environmental effects for the EU, especially in terms of Mode 4 (mobility of workers) and for the poorer segments of Indian society.
  • Adopted on 16/06/2011
    Referentie
    REX/318-EESC-2011-01-01-1010
    Employers - GR I
    United Kingdom
    Plenary session number
    472
    -
  • Adopted on 13/09/2010
    Referentie
    REX/317-EESC-2010-1302
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Austria
    Plenary session number
    485
    -
  • Adopted on 26/05/2010
    Referentie
    REX/276-EESC-2010-770
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Italy
    Plenary session number
    463
    -
  • Adopted on 01/10/2009
    Referentie
    REX/268-EESC-2009-1478
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Italy
    Plenary session number
    456
    -
Displaying 1 - 10 of 10