9 a.m. – 9.45 a.m. Opening

  • Mr Luca Jahier, President of the Various Interests Group of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Ms Mairead McGuinness, Irish MEP, first Vice President of the European Parliament (confirmed)
  • Q & As

9.45 a.m. – 10.45 a.m. Impact of 'Brexit' on Irish Trade & Business

  • (Chair) Michael Smyth, Vice President of the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)
  • Aidan Gough, Director of Strategy & Policy, InterTradeIreland
  • Jonathan Peel, Member of the EESC
  • Conor Patterson, CEO Newry and Mourne Cooperative and Enterprise Agency

Q & As

coffee served outside – no break

10.45 a.m. – 12.15 p.m. Peacebuilding and Cross-Community Capacity Building

  • (Chair) Jane Morrice, Member of the EESC
  • Gina McIntyre, Chief Executive, Special EU Programmes Body
  • Seamus McAleavey, Chief Executive NICVA
  • John Patrick Clayton, UNISON NI
  • Q & As

12.15 p.m. – 1.30 p.m. Cross-Border Cooperation in Post-Brexit Context

  • (Chair) Seamus Boland, Member of the EESC & Chief Executive of Irish Rural Link
  • Pamela Arthurs, Chief Executive of the East Border Region
  • Ruth Taillon, Director of the Centre for Cross Border Studies
  • David Phinnemore, Professor of European Politics
  • Q & As

1.30 p.m. – 2.30 p.m. Lunch

3 p.m. Study visit at border between Ireland and Northern Ireland