This page is also available in


Venue of the conference: EESC premises - 99-101, Rue Belliard - 1040 Brussels

Opening plenary session (10 a.m. - 10.30 a.m.)

Mr Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister of Luxembourg

Mr Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament

Mr Georges Dassis, President of the EESC

High Level Plenary Panel Discussion (10.30 a.m. - 12.30 p.m.; Q&A from 11.30 a.m.)

Moderator: Mr Philip Blenkinsop, Reuters


  • Ms Liina Carr, Secretary Confederal of ETUC
  • Mr Markus J. Beyrer, Director General, BUSINESSEUROPE
  • Ms Cecilia Malmström, EU Trade Commissioner
  • Mr Bernd Lange, Chair of the European Parliament International Trade (INTA) Committee
  • Mr Jean Asselborn, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of Luxembourg

Lunch Break (12.30 p.m. - 2 p.m.)


Afternoon Session

Every parallel session will start with four short opening interventions from representatives of business, trade unions, European Parliament, EESC, ILO or other stakeholders, followed by a debate with participants.

Panel sessions (in parallel) (2 p.m. – 3.10 p.m.)

  1. Economic benefits for SMEs

Moderator: Mr Tom Fairless, The Wall Street Journal


  • Mr Jordan Soubieux, CNC-SHOPPING
  • Mr Ian Talbot, Chief Executive, Chambers Ireland
  • Mr Christofer Fjellner, EPP, European Parliament, INTA Committee
  • Ms Gabriele Bischoff, President of the EESC Workers' group
  • Mr Luc Hendrickx, Director for Enterprise Policy, UEAPME
  1.  Securing European social standards and labour rights

Moderator: Ms Claire Courteille, Director, ILO - Brussels Office


  • Mr Steve Turner, TUC, UK
  • Mr Jacek Krawczyk, President of the EESC employers group
  • Mr Thomas Händel, GUE/NGL, European Parliament, EMPL Chairman
  • Mr Jens Boe Andersen, Danish Metalworkers Union

Coffee break (3.10 p.m. - 3.20 p.m.)

Panel sessions (in parallel) (3.20 p.m. – 4.30 p.m.)

  1. Transparency, democracy, accountability (meeting room 63)

Moderator: Prof. Dr. Burkhard Hess, Director, Max Planck Institute Luxembourg for International, European and Regulatory Procedural Law


  • Mr Luca Jahier, President of the EESC Various interests group
  • Ms Milena Angelova, CEEP Executive Vice-President
  • Mr Oliver Röpke, Head of European office of the Austrian trade unions
  • Ms Dita Charanzová, ALDE, European Parliament, IMCO Committee
  1. Regulatory cooperation (meeting room JDE 62)

Moderator: Ms Joanna Sopińska, EU Trade Insights


  • Mr Reinhard Quick, German Chemical Industry Association
  • Mr Guido Nelissen, IndustriALL
  • Ms Godelieve Quisthoudt-Rowohl, EPP, European Parliament, INTA Committee
  • Mr Petr Zahradník, Czech Chamber of commerce
  • Mr Johannes Kleis, BEUC

Closing plenary session (4.30 p.m. - 5.30 p.m.)

Moderator: Ms Poppy Bullock, MLex

Presentation of a summary of panel sessions by the four moderators

Comments by:

  • Mr Rudy De Leeuw, President of ETUC
  • Mr Arnaldo Abruzzini, Secretary General of Eurochambres

Concluding remarks:

  • Ms Maria Åsenius, Head of Cabinet of Ms Cecilia Malmström
  • Mr Georges Dassis, President of the EESC