Sostenibilità alimentare

This page is also available in:

Il cibo è un elemento fondamentale della nostra vita e fa parte integrante della cultura europea. Tuttavia, gli alimenti che mangiamo, il modo in cui li produciamo e le quantità che vanno sprecate hanno ripercussioni considerevoli sulla salute umana, sulle risorse naturali e sulla società nel suo complesso:

  • I cittadini – e in particolare i bambini – sono sempre più in sovrappeso e soffrono di obesità a causa di regimi alimentari non sani.
  • Gli agricoltori e i lavoratori non riescono ad ottenere prezzi equi per i loro prodotti.
  • Un terzo degli alimenti va perduto o sprecato lungo la catena alimentare.
  • È l'ambiente che paga il conto di questa situazione, con gli effetti drammatici della produzione e del consumo di alimenti sui cambiamenti climatici, sulla perdita di biodiversità, sull'inquinamento atmosferico e idrico, sul degrado del suolo, ecc.

La crisi COVID-19 è un campanello d'allarme che ci esorta a un cambiamento. Essa ha mostrato che portare gli alimenti "dal produttore al consumatore" non è un processo scontato, e che esiste un'interconnessione tra attori e attività nell'intero sistema alimentare. Sono più che mai necessarie filiere di approvvigionamento eque, efficienti sotto il profilo delle risorse, inclusive e sostenibili in tutto il settore agricolo e alimentare, con pari vantaggi per i cittadini, gli agricoltori, i lavoratori e le imprese.

Il CESE è da anni in prima linea nell'invocare una politica alimentare sostenibile e completa. Tale approccio integrato e sistemico è essenziale per: affrontare le molteplici e interconnesse sfide che interessano i sistemi alimentari; realizzare una sostenibilità economica, ambientale e socioculturale; garantire l'integrazione e la coerenza in tutti i settori politici (quali l'agricoltura, l'ambiente, la sanità, l'istruzione, il commercio, l'economia, la tecnologia, ecc.) e promuovere la cooperazione tra tutti i livelli di governance.

  • Adottati on 19/09/2018 - Bureau decision date: 13/02/2018
    Riferimento
    NAT/732-EESC-2018-01-01-02522
    (Italy
    (Italy

    The Commission is proposing a targeted revision of the General Food Law Regulation coupled with the revision of eight pieces of sectoral legislation, to bring them in line with the general rules and strengthen transparency in the area of GMOs, feed additives, smoke flavourings, food contact materials, food additives, food enzymes and flavourings, plant protection products and novel foods.

    EESC opinion: Transparency in scientific assessments and governance of EFSA
  • Adottati on 19/09/2018 - Bureau decision date: 13/02/2018
    Riferimento
    NAT/734-EESC-2018-02438
    Workers - GR II
    Germany

    The Commission's initiative follows one of the recommendations of the Agricultural Markets Task Force that the EU should legislate in the areas of UTPs for agricultural products, and responds to some of the conclusions of the 2016 EESC opinion on "A fairer food supply chain".

    EESC opinion: Improving the food supply chain
  • Adottati on 23/05/2018 - Bureau decision date: 05/12/2017
    Riferimento
    NAT/727-EESC-2018-00162
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Czech Republic
    (Ireland

    Communication from the Commission to the European Parliament, the Council, the European Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions - The Future of Food and Farming

    EESC opinion: The future of food and farming (Communication)
    Position paper Birdlife
  • Adottati on 06/12/2017 - Bureau decision date: 23/02/2017
    Riferimento
    NAT/711-EESC-2017-02234-00-00-AC-TRA
    Workers - GR II
    Germany

    The own-initiative opinion, prepared by the EESC Permanent Study Group on Sustainable Food Systems, will aim to identify existing challenges, policy inconsistencies and obstacles to a more coherent food policy approach at EU level; to provide examples of ongoing transitions to more sustainable food policies at local/regional/national level; to highlight the role of civil society in building partnerships among stakeholders across the food supply chain; and to define how a comprehensive food policy for the EU should look, including an indicative roadmap.

    EESC opinion: Civil society's contribution to the development of a comprehensive food policy in the EU (own-initiative opinion)
  • Adottati on 18/10/2017 - Bureau decision date: 28/03/2017
    Riferimento
    NAT/713-EESC-2017-01-01-EESC-2017-01814-00-00-AC-TRA
    (Estonia
    EESC opinion: Land use for sustainable food production and ecosystem services (exploratory opinion requested by the Estonian Presidency)
  • Adottati on 25/05/2016 - Bureau decision date: 08/12/2015
    Riferimento
    NAT/677-EESC-2016-01-01-0232
    (Lithuania

    In the past few years, civil society has been increasingly concerned about the environmental and social impact of food production and consumption. At the request of the Dutch EU Presidency, the EESC is preparing an exploratory opinion on how to achieve sustainable food systems in a resource-constrained world. The opinion takes a holistic and comprehensive approach, looking at the interdependence of food production and consumption as well as fostering inter-sectoral cooperation.

    EESC opinion: More sustainable food systems (exploratory opinion requested by the Dutch presidency)
  • Adottati on 16/09/2015
    Riferimento
    NAT/669-EESC-0000-01-01-02913-00-01-ac-tra
    Employers - GR I
    Spain
    Workers - GR II
    Netherlands
    Plenary session number
    510
    -
    EESC opinion: New provisions of GMOs and GM food and feed
  • Adottati on 18/03/2015
    Riferimento
    NAT/633-EESC-2014-01-01-02479-00-00-ac-tra
    Employers - GR I
    Slovakia
    Plenary session number
    506
    -

     

     

    EESC opinion: Food safety and security
  • Adottati on 16/10/2014
    Riferimento
    NAT/647-EESC-2014-02977-00-00-ac-tra
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Latvia
    Plenary session number
    502
    -

    Adopted at the plenary session of 15-16.10.2014

     

     

    EESC opinion: Organic Production/ labelling
  • Adottati on 09/07/2014
    Riferimento
    NAT/648-EESC-2014-01-01-0347
    Plenary session number
    500
    -

     

     

    Repealing directive on the scientific examination of food (category C)