Sostenibilità alimentare

This page is also available in:

Il cibo è un elemento fondamentale della nostra vita e fa parte integrante della cultura europea. Tuttavia, gli alimenti che mangiamo, il modo in cui li produciamo e le quantità che vanno sprecate hanno ripercussioni considerevoli sulla salute umana, sulle risorse naturali e sulla società nel suo complesso:

  • I cittadini – e in particolare i bambini – sono sempre più in sovrappeso e soffrono di obesità a causa di regimi alimentari non sani.
  • Gli agricoltori e i lavoratori non riescono ad ottenere prezzi equi per i loro prodotti.
  • Un terzo degli alimenti va perduto o sprecato lungo la catena alimentare.
  • È l'ambiente che paga il conto di questa situazione, con gli effetti drammatici della produzione e del consumo di alimenti sui cambiamenti climatici, sulla perdita di biodiversità, sull'inquinamento atmosferico e idrico, sul degrado del suolo, ecc.

La crisi COVID-19 è un campanello d'allarme che ci esorta a un cambiamento. Essa ha mostrato che portare gli alimenti "dal produttore al consumatore" non è un processo scontato, e che esiste un'interconnessione tra attori e attività nell'intero sistema alimentare. Sono più che mai necessarie filiere di approvvigionamento eque, efficienti sotto il profilo delle risorse, inclusive e sostenibili in tutto il settore agricolo e alimentare, con pari vantaggi per i cittadini, gli agricoltori, i lavoratori e le imprese.

Il CESE è da anni in prima linea nell'invocare una politica alimentare sostenibile e completa. Tale approccio integrato e sistemico è essenziale per: affrontare le molteplici e interconnesse sfide che interessano i sistemi alimentari; realizzare una sostenibilità economica, ambientale e socioculturale; garantire l'integrazione e la coerenza in tutti i settori politici (quali l'agricoltura, l'ambiente, la sanità, l'istruzione, il commercio, l'economia, la tecnologia, ecc.) e promuovere la cooperazione tra tutti i livelli di governance.

  • Adottati on 19/01/2022 - Bureau decision date: 23/09/2021
    Riferimento
    NAT/844-EESC-2021
    Employers - GR I
    France
    Workers - GR II
    Germany
    EESC opinion: Food security and sustainable food systems
  • Adottati on 08/12/2021 - Bureau decision date: 25/03/2021
    Riferimento
    NAT/821-EESC-2021
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Austria
    Workers - GR II
    Germany

    The own-initiative opinion aims to contribute to the Farm to Fork Strategy objective to stimulate sustainable food processing, wholesale, retail, hospitality and food services practices by providing the views and experience from organised civil society and stakeholders from across the food supply chain and by highlighting producers' good practices to increase the availability and affordability of healthy, sustainable food options. 

    EESC opinion: Aligning food business strategies and operations with the SDGs for a sustainable post-COVID-19 recovery (own-initiative opinion)
  • Adottati on 20/10/2021 - Bureau decision date: 25/03/2021
    Riferimento
    NAT/822-EESC-2021
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Netherlands
    EESC opinion: Strategic autonomy and food security and sustainability (own-initiative opinion)
  • Adottati on 22/09/2021 - Bureau decision date: 19/03/2021
    Riferimento
    NAT/823-EESC-2021
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Slovenia
    Workers - GR II
    Germany

    The upcoming Slovenian Presidency of the EU has requested the Committee to draw up an exploratory opinion on the effective achievement of the Directive’s objectives in practice, on Member States’ best practices in regulating the agri-food chain, as well as on the steps needed so that this process does not come to a halt.

    EESC opinion: Towards a Fair Food Supply Chain
  • Adottati on 22/09/2021 - Bureau decision date: 23/02/2021
    Riferimento
    NAT/818-EESC-2021
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Austria
    EESC opinion: Action Plan for the development of EU organic production
  • Adottati on 27/04/2021
    Riferimento
    NAT/809-EESC-2021-01-01-00521
    Workers - GR II
    Bulgaria
    EESC opinion: How to implement harmonisation of market entry for food supplements in the EU
  • Adottati on 27/04/2021 - Bureau decision date: 28/10/2020
    Riferimento
    NAT/805-EESC-2020
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Spain

    The SUD can play a central role in the European Green Deal framework, being crucial to the Commission's Farm-to-Fork strategy for shifting to a fair, healthy and environmentally friendly food system, and complementary to both the EU Biodiversity Strategy for 2030 and the Zero Pollution Strategy.

    Information report: Evaluation on Directive on the Sustainable Use of Pesticides (Information report)
  • Adottati on 18/09/2020 - Bureau decision date: 18/02/2020
    Riferimento
    NAT/787-EESC-2020-994
    Workers - GR II
    Germany
    Civil Society Organisations - GR III
    Czech Republic
    EESC opinion: "From farm to fork": a sustainable food strategy
  • Adottati on 17/07/2019 - Bureau decision date: 24/01/2019
    Riferimento
    NAT/763-EESC-2019-01463
    (France
    EESC opinion: Promoting short and alternative food supply chains in the EU: the role of agroecology (own-initiative opinion)
  • Adottati on 20/02/2019 - Bureau decision date: 12/07/2018
    Riferimento
    NAT/755-EESC-2018-04568
    Workers - GR II
    Germany

    The own-initiative opinion aims to analyse the link between current food systems and diet-related diseases;  identify policies, tools and instruments that are needed to foster healthier diets both on the supply and demand side.

    EESC opinion: Promoting healthy and sustainable diets in the EU (own-initiative opinion)