Salute

This page is also available in

Displaying 1 - 10 of 61

Pages

Opinion
Adottati on 07/07/2021
Riferimento: 
SOC/680-EESC-2021
Sessione plenaria: 
562 -
Jul 07, 2021 Jul 08, 2021

The EESC welcomes the new EU Disability Rights Strategy, acknowledging that it is a clear step forward compared with the previous one. It is however concerned about the lack of binding measures and hard legislation implementing the Strategy.

Among other recommendations, the Committee regrets the lack of specific actions addressing the needs of women and girls with disabilities and calls for a specific flagship initiative in the second half of the period of the Strategy. It also calls for the  full involvement and participation of organisations of persons with disabilities in the proposed Disability Platform. As regarding the Recovery and Resilience Facility (RRF), the EESC feels it  should be strongly linked to the Disability Strategy and used to help persons with disabilities recovering from the pandemic.

Parere del CESE: Strategy on the rights of persons with disabilities

Opinion
Adottati on 09/06/2021
Riferimento: 
SOC/677-EESC-2021
Sessione plenaria: 
561 -
Jun 09, 2021 Jun 10, 2021

In this opinion the EESC:

  • Welcomes Europe's Beating Cancer Plan as a milestone in the fight against cancer and calls for a concrete roadmap for its implementation, with performance indicators, realistic timeframes and close involvement of Social Partners (SP) and Civil Society Organisations (CSO).
  • Considers important that the EU and Member States ensure  the availability of igh-quality, accessible healthcare infrastructure and effective support systems for patients' physical and mental well-being.
  • Asks for the negative consequences caused by the COVID-19 pandemic in accessing to health services to be urgently addressed, recognising as well the supportive role SP and CSO can play in this area. 

Parere del CESE: Europe's beating cancer plan

Opinion
Adottati on 27/04/2021
Riferimento: 
INT/950-EESC-2021-01784-00-00-AC-TRA
Sessione plenaria: 
560 -
Apr 27, 2021 Apr 28, 2021

The EESC believes that evidence based processes like Health Technology Assessment (HTA) that is a key driver for socio-economic growth and innovation in the Union can be achieved through cooperation between Member States at Union level aiming at a high protection of health for patients and ensuring the smooth functioning of an inclusive Single Market. It is concerned about the set timelines of implementation and especially the delayed application of three years and believes that for the benefit of the patients and cost-effectiveness this could be shortened. In order to achieve the promise of digital health and care, of which HTA is part, the involvement of civil society is crucial.

Parere del CESE: Health technology assessment / Compromise

Downloads: 

Council of the EU compromise on COM(2018) 51 final – 2018/0018 (COD)

Opinion
Adottati on 27/04/2021
Riferimento: 
SOC/665-EESC-2020
Sessione plenaria: 
560 -
Apr 27, 2021 Apr 28, 2021

The opinion, presenting EESC's position on the four proposals of the Health package published by the European  Commission in November 2020, supports and welcomes these initiatives but draws the attention on some elements.

  • The EU and Member States should ensure that everyone has equal access to quality, well staffed, well equipped health and social services. This is particularly important in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic which has deepened existing inequalities.
  • Special attention in future EU policies should be given to healthcare workers and the need to improve working conditions, including pay, recruitment and retention, as well as their health and safety.
  • The new EU health package should be combined with the roll-out of the European Pillar of Social Rights (EPSR), particularly its principles 12, 16, 17 and 18 and the Action Plan on the EPSR. It should also be part of achieving Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 3.

Parere del CESE: Building a European Health Union

Opinion
In elaborazione (updated on 15/10/2021)
Riferimento: 
SOC/687-EESC-2021
Sessione plenaria: 
565 -
Dec 08, 2021 Dec 09, 2021

Nota d'informazione: Towards a New Care Model for the Elderly: learning from the Covid-19 pandemic (own-initiative opinion - Gr III)

Opinion
Adottati on 29/10/2020
Riferimento: 
NAT/798-EESC-2020
Sessione plenaria: 
555 -
Oct 27, 2020 Oct 29, 2020

The revamped Union Civil Protection Mechanism (UCPM) is a tool through which the EU supports, coordinates and supplements actions of EU Member States in the field of civil protection in order to prevent, prepare and respond to natural and man-made disasters within and outside the EU. The new proposal aims to strengthen the UCPM to ensure that the EU and its Member States are better prepared to respond to large-scale emergencies such as the COVID-19 pandemic.

Parere del CESE: Union Civil Protection Mechanism

Pages