Events

Pages

Displaying 1 - 10 of 765
Ten years on from the European Year of Volunteering

The conference was originally planned for 12 March 2020 and postponed several times as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The organisers decided to reschedule the event and to organise it in January 2022 (the exact date will be decided in October or November 2021).

01/01/2022
CCMI 183 hearing

This online hearing organised by the Consultative Commission on Industrial Change (CCMI) will gather views from key industry stakeholders on how the EU Recovery Plan can support Resource and Energy-Intensive Industries (REEIs) in their socially acceptable transition towards de-carbonisation and digitalisation.

06/07/2021

The Covid-19 pandemic has resulted in major economic and social impacts across the EU, worsening the already precarious situation of marginalised communities, amongst them the Roma. The hearing aims to look at the Covid situation for the Roma community living in settlements, as well as their access to services, particularly health services. It will then discuss the measures that are needed to address the situation, with the participation of organisations from various Member States.

22/06/2021

Strategic foresight is increasingly being embedded into EU policy making. It involves exploring different possible future scenarios and considering the opportunities and challenges connected to them, to contribute to policy action that shapes the future in a way we would like.
The conference will focus on the economic aspects of strategic foresight, and how strategic foresight influences considerations and policy making in public authorities in the EU, and how economic and social actors use foresight in their organisations.

22/06/2021

In the framework of the elaboration of its own-initiative opinion on "Advertising for modern, responsible consumption", the EESC organizes a hearing which aims at gathering the point of view of different actors. The conclusions of the hearing will then be integrated into the opinion.

REGISTRATION FORM

21/06/2021

Following the publication of the European Commission's Update to the New Industrial Strategy, the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) will be carrying out a series of activities to fulfil its role of representing the views of organised civil society. A key event in this process will be a conference held on 17 June 2021, from 2.30 to 6 p.m., on Updated industrial strategy: towards a more resilient and strategically autonomous EU industry?

17/06/2021

The European Economic and Social Committee is currently preparing an own initiative opinion on Glass in Europe at a crossroads: delivering a greener, energy-efficient industry, while enhancing competitiveness and maintaining quality jobs. Within the EESC, the Consultative Commission on Industrial Change is responsible for the preparation of the opinion. In order to gain insights by experts from relevant sectors of civil society, the Rapporteur (Laurentiu Plosceanu), Corapporteur (Gerald Kreuzer) and President (Kestutis Kupsys) of the Study Group that is drafting the opinion have decided to organize a hearing with civil society representatives.

15/06/2021

Digitalisation transforms societies and economies, affecting the way we live, work and relate to one another. Digital services increasingly weave into Europe’s economy and are shaping Europe's digital future and this trend has been further accelerated with the COVID-10 crisis.  

As a result, digitalisation is high on the EU policy agenda.  The European Commission has been particularly active in launching different initiatives to foster Europe's key political objective of digital sovereignty through ensuring a safe, fair, open and accountable online environment for its citizens and unleashing the potential of its Digital Single Market.

The Digital Services Act and the Digital Markets Act are two flagship initiatives of Europe's answer on how digital services should be provided and, more generally, on helping European societies take full advantage of the "new Economy".

14/06/2021
AI in tackling Covid-19 crisis: opportunities and challenges & European Digital Innovation Hubs: boosting adoption of digital technologies in EU businesses

AI in tackling Covid-19 crisis: opportunities and challenges & European Digital Innovation Hubs: boosting adoption of digital technologies in EU businesses

 
14/06/2021

Pages