This page is also available in

9.00  Opening speeches

  • Pantelis Filippidis, President of Thessaloniki's Traders Association
  • Stelios Katranidis, Rector of the University of Macedonia
  • Emmanouil Vlachogiannis, Vice-president of Thessaloniki Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Athanasios Savvakis, President of the Federation of Industries of Northern Greece

Keynote Speaker:

  • Apostolos Makrykostas, Secretary General of Industry, Ministry of Economy and Development of Greece

10.00  Coffee break

10.15  Cross Border conversions, mergers and divisions

Moderator: Norbert Kluge, EESC member

  • Miguel Gardeñes Santiago, Professor of Private International Law, Autonomous University of Barcelona: Some comments on the Commission's proposal of 25 April 2018, on cross-border conversions, mergers and divisions
  • Thomas Papadopoulos, Lecturer of Business Law at University of Cyprus, Editorial Secretary of European Company Law (ECL): Protection of creditors and minority shareholders (appraisal rights) in cross-border mergers
  • Aikaterini Kalliarekou, Lecturer of Economic and Commercial Law, University of Macedonia: Company Divisions
  • Robbert Van het Kaar, Senior Researcher at the Hugo Sinzheimer Institute for Socio-legal research on Labour and Social Security

11.00  Questions and answers  

11.15  The use of digital tools and processes in company law

Moderator: Krzysztof Balon, EESC member

  • Florian Möslein, Professor of Civil and Economic Law, Marburg University, Germany: Challenges for Company Law in the Digital Age
  • Efi Tziva, Associate Professor of Commercial Law, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki: Legal concerns about the digitalization of the companies in the European Union
  • Marianna Papakyriakou, Vice-president of the Commission of European Affairs, International Union of Notaries
  • Sofia Mouratidou-Zachariadou, Honorary President of I.R.E.N.E. (Institut de Recherches et d’Études Notariales Européen) and Representative of Greece to the International Union of Notaries
  • Stathis Koutsochinas, President of the Thessaloniki Bar Association
  • Evangelia Kekeleki, EESC member

12.00  Questions and answers

12.15  Conclusions and recommendations

  • Ariane Rodert, President of the Section for the Single Market, Production and Consumption, EESC