Christa Schweng - Employers' Group candidate for the next EESC presidency

This page is also available in

Christa SCHWENG - European Economic and Social Committee

Ms Christa Schweng obtained the majority of the EESC Employers' Group preferences to become the new Employers' Group candidate for the next EESC presidency. This was shown in a survey that the Employers' Group conducted on 7 September 2020. The Employers' Group decided to hold this survey for a candidate B for the next EESC presidency for the case that the Group was required to present a new candidate for the post. Mr Jacek Krawczyk stepped down as EESC presidential candidate. 

Ms Christa Schweng was supported as the Employers' Groups candidate B by receiving 47 casted preferences in the survey. The other members that put forward their candidacy received 36 (Ms Milena Angelova) and 5 preferences (Mr István Komoróczki). 4 members abstained. Ms Schweng's candidacy will have to be confirmed by Group elections. Ms Schweng is a member of the EESC Employers' Group since 22 years and is currently the president of the Section on Employment, Social Affairs and Citizenship.

Mr Krawczyk, President of the EESC Employers' Group, declared his resignation as the Group's candidate for the future presidency of the EESC after the survey. He fully endorsed candidacy of Mrs Schweng for EESC presidency in upcoming 2020 - 2023 term of office.  “My resignation from the candidacy for EESC presidency must not be recognized as acceptance of the EESC Bureau decision of June 9th 2020, which I do not recognize entirely and question its content and legality.” Mr Krawczyk will stay President of the EESC Employers' Group until 20 September 2020, the end of the 2015 – 2020 term of office. The new term will start in October 2020.