Draft programme

This page is also available in

EESC/CoR, Rue Belliard 99, JDE51, Brussels


9 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. | Registration

9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. | Opening Session: Inspiring action to tackle climate change

Moderator: Bruno Rebelle, cabinet Transitions DD


  • Georges Dassis, EESC President (video address)
  • Gilles Pargneaux, Rapporteur on an international climate agreement in Paris, Member of the European Parliament
  • Claus Kondrup, DG Climate Action, European Commission
  • Lutz Ribbe, Member of the European Economic and Social Committee, rapporteur on "The Paris Protocol – A blueprint for tackling global climate change beyond 2020"
  • Annabelle Jaeger, Member of the Committee of the Regions, rapporteur on "The Paris Protocol"




10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. | Coffee break: "Best practice café"

Poster walls will present best practices of climate action.

11.00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. | Session II: Mobilising action by cities, regions and civil society

  • Bernard Soulage, Vice-President of the Rhône-Alpes Region, member of the Committee of the Regions, co-chair of the World Summit Climate and Territories' steering committee
  • Typhanie Scognamiglio, Missions Publiques, Project Manager Global Public Debate on Climate and Energy
  • Rodrigo Messias, representative of the Network of Regional Government for Sustainable Development – nrg4SD
  • Andrew Cooper, Councillor of Kirklees Council, UK, member of the ENVE Commission of the European Committee of the Regions
  • Filipa Pimentel and Lynn van Leerzem Transition Movement



Conclusion of the session:

  • Isabel Caño Aguilar,  Member of the European Economic and Social Committee

12:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Lunch break

2:00 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. | Session III: Universal Declaration of Rights and Responsibilities of Humanity

  • Corinne Lepage, Founder of Cap21, former Member of the European Parliament, Author of the Declaration


Presentation and debate

2.45 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. | Session IV: Towards an EU Strategy – implementing the global agreements

Video: "11 European youngsters on Climate change" with an introduction by Eliska Strohlein, student, European School of Brussels


  • Benjamin Denis, Advisor, European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)
  • Wendel Trio, Director, Climate Action Network (CAN) Europe
  • Maria Angeles Elorza Zubiria, General Secretary for External Affairs, Basque Country, Spain, member of the European Committee of the Regions and co-organiser with ICLEI of the 8th Conference on Sustainable Cities and Towns
  • Marie-Laure Falque Masset, Director for energy and climate at ARENE Île-de-France
  • Frédéric Vallier, Secretary General of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR), and part of the consortium of the Covenant of Mayors Office



Conclusion of the session:

  • Annabelle Jaeger, Member of the European Committee of the Regions, Rapporteur on the COP21, Regional councillor, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France

4:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. | Closing session

  • Sirpa Hertell, Vice-Chair of the Commission for the Environment, Climate Change and Energy, European Committee of the Regions, local councillor, Espoo, Finland
  • Brenda King, President of the Sustainable Development Observatory of the European Economic and Social Committee

5:00 p.m. | End of the conference


Follow: @EESC_SDO @EU_CoR

Hashtags: #COP21 #EESClimate #CoR


* To be confirmed




Draft programme