2015-2020 term – the Employers' Group elects its representatives of EESC bodies

This page is also available in

Following the renewal, the members of the Employers' Group approved the Group's earlier proposals for the Group president and the presidents and vice-presidents of the sections and observatories. The Group elected its vice-presidents, as well as the members of the Group bureau and the EESC bureau. Jacek Krawczyk was re-elected president of the Group.

"I am delighted to say that the Group consists of an outstanding team of employers' representatives. The new members, who make up more than 40% of the Group, add new insights, expertise and additional input to the excellent professional experience and vision that our members have already brought to us with the renewed mandate." – stated Mr Krawczyk during the Group meeting. He underlined that the Group's political priorities would be established in the coming months through a transparent and democratic consultation of the members.

On Wednesday, the EESC plenary elected the presidents of the sections and vice-presidents of the EESC. Gonçalo Lobo Xavier will be the EESC vice-president in charge of communication. Joost van Iersel will continue his mission as president of the ECO section. Brendan Burns was elected president of the NAT section.

Antonello Pezzini was appointed EESC quaestor. Pedro Augusto Almeida Freire will preside over the Single Market Observatory and Brenda King will become the president of the Sustainable Development Observatory. Milena Angelova will lead the TEN Permanent study group on Services of General Interest.