EESC Finnish member Pirkko Raunemaa receives Interpreters' 2018 Delegate of the Year Award

Pirkko Rauneamaa, a Finnish member of the EESC's Diversity Europe Group, was presented with the 2018 Delegate of the Year Award by the European Commission's Finnish interpreters on 23 May in Brussels.

The award was created to show appreciation for Finnish delegates who speak Finnish during EU meetings, defend the status of Finnish and actively cooperate with interpreters to help ensure high quality interpreting of their speeches.

Pirkko Raunemaa has been a member of the EESC since 2006. During her career in the area of food safety, she has represented Finland in many international fora including the UN’s Codex Alimentarius commission and the EFSA board.(dm)

In the photo, from left to right: EESC member Pirkko Raunemaa and Finnish interpreters Veijo Kruth and Tarja Kallio