Dilyana Slavova presents EESC's views at Eastern Partnership Foreign Ministers meeting

Dilyana Slavova, president of the EESC's External Relations section, attended the meeting of foreign ministers of the Eastern Partnership countries hosted by the Council of the EU on 13 May to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Eastern Partnership.

Dilyana Slavova said that the Eastern Partnership countries (Ukraine, Georgia, Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Belarus) have always been high on the EESC's external relations agenda and that "contact with civil society organisations from these countries has developed and matured".

Dilyana Slavova also reported that the joint monitoring mechanisms established with these countries "are bearing fruit", even if there are continuing concerns regarding the shrinking space for civil society, respect for the rule of law and freedom of speech. (dgf)