9.00                 Registration of participants and coffee


9.30                 Welcome speech by Mr Martin Siecker, President of the Section for the Single Market,

                        Production and Consumption, EESC


9.40                 Introduction by Mr Panagiotis Gkofas, President of the SMEs, Crafts and Liberal Professions Category, EESC


9.50                 Presentation of the Study on the assessment of the effectiveness of the EU SMEs policies 2007-2015

Mr Stefan Petranov, professor at the Sofia University


10.15               Brief presentation of the preliminary draft opinion on the Effectiveness of policies for SMEs by

                        the rapporteur, Ms Milena Angelova, EESC


10.20           Panel discussion moderated by Ms Milena Angelova with the following speakers

  • Ms Maria Spyraki, Member of the European Parliament
  •  Ms Maarit Nyman, Deputy Head of Unit, DG GROWTH, European Commission
  • Ms Katja Reppel, Deputy Head of Unit, DG REGIO, European Commission
  • Mr Dimitris Dimitriadis, EESC Member


                        Social partners

  • UEAPME, Mr Luc Hendrickx, Director of Enterprise Policy and External Relations
  • CEEP, Mr Thierry Durnerin, Chair of the CEEP Public Services Board
  • Made in Bulgaria Union, Mr Plamen Grozdanov, Secretary General
  •  IndustriALL, Mr Luc Triangle, General Secretary


12.15           Open debate followed by questions and answers


12.50          Closing remarks by Mr Stefano Palmieri, President of the Study Group, EESC


13.00          End of the hearing