This page is also available in

Chair: Marian Krzaklewski, EESC Member, President of Study Group for opinion "Amending the Internal Gas Market Directive"

9.00            Registration

9.30            Welcome

  • Pierre Jean Coulon, President of the Section Transport, Energy, Information Society of the EESC

9.35            Keynote speech

  • Jerzy Buzek, Member of the European Parliament, Chairman of the Committee "Industry, Research and Energy" (ITRE) of the European Parliament

9.50           ''EU Gas Market Policy: How important are pipelines for Europe's energy security?

Baiba Miltoviča, Member of the EESC, Rapporteur for opinion "Amending the Internal Gas Market Directive"


  • Jan Ingwersen, Secretary-General, ENTSO-G
  • Garrett Blaney, President, Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER)
  • Tomas Maltby, Lecturer, King's College London
  • Antoine Simon, Friends of the Earth Europe


11.05          Coffee break

11.25          The implications of the amendment of the gas market directive: Investments, regulation, and external energy policies by EU and Member states?

Antonello Pezzini, Member of the EESC, Member of the study group for opinion "Amending the Internal Gas Market Directive"


  • Michał Wilczynski, Freelance energy expert
  • Ana Stanič, Director, E&A Law  Limited
  • Sebastian Barkowski, Deputy Permanent Representative, Permanent Representation of Poland to the EU 
  • Christian Schwarck, Deputy Director EU Affairs, International Oil and Gas Producers


12.40         Concluding remarks

  • Florian Ermacora, Head of Unit 'Wholesale Markets electricity and gas', DG Energy, European Commission
  • Baiba Miltovica, Member of the EESC, Rapporteur opinion "Amending the Internal Gas Market Directive"

Interpreting provided from EN, FR, DE, IT, PL, LV into EN, FR, PL, LV

Twitter: @EESC_TEN - @EU_EESC
#GasSecurity #EESC #EnergyDialogue


Programme (EU Gas Market Policy)