The EESC at COP 24

The delegation of the European Economic and Social Committee to COP24:

  • EESC President Luca Jahier: Luca Jahier has been elected President of the EESC on 18 April 2018 for a period of two and a half years. He has been a member of the Committee since 2002. Within the EESC, he has worked extensively on the European Union's social and cohesion policies, as well as on international matters. In September 2004, he was elected vice-president of the EESC's Section for Employment, Social Affairs and Citizenship. In October 2006, he was elected vice-president of Group III, member of the Committee Bureau for two years and member of the EU-Croatia and EU-Turkey Joint Consultative Committees. From October 2008 to 2010, he was president of the ACP-EU Follow-up Committee and president of the Permanent group on Immigration and Integration. In October 2011, he was elected president of Group III of the EESC, and was re-elected in January 2013 and in October 2015. In this capacity, he has been a member of the EESC's Bureau. Over the course of three terms in office as president, Group III carried out nine studies, and held 42 conferences in 17 EU countries attended by thousands of people and countless meetings with European civil society organisations.
  • Isabel Caño Aguilar: Vice-President in charge of Communication, Member for the trade unions’ constituency and a Member of the EESC since 2010. A teacher by profession, Isabel is a member of the education section of the Spanish General Workers Union (UGT) and head of the UGT office in Brussels. Her areas of interest are: employment, adaptation to climate change, new skills for new jobs, ‘fair transition’ and renewable energies.
  • Tellervo Kylä-Harakka-Ruonala: Vice-President of the Employers’ Group and Vice-President of the EESC's Sustainable Development Observatory. Since joining the EESC in 2015, she has been Rapporteur of opinions regarding climate, energy, transport and digital issues.  After a long career at the Confederation of Finnish Industries, Tellervo now acts as an independent senior advisor. Before joining industrial organisations, she worked for the Ministry of the Environment and for the National Board of Waters in Finland, and holds a D.Sc. in Environmental Sciences from the University of Helsinki.
  • Stefan Back: member for the employers and business constituency, has been a member of the EESC since 2010. Member of the EESC’s Sustainable Development Observatory and covering transport, energy and climate issues, he holds the position of Director of Sustainable Logistics in the Swedish Confederation of Transport Enterprises, and has a long career in transport policy, both at ministerial level in Sweden and in European organisations.
  • Rudy De Leeuw: EESC Member since September 2015. Rudy is the rapporteur of the EESC opinion "European Finance-Climate Pact",  President of the Belgian General Federation of Labour since 2006 and President of the European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC) since 2015.
  • Cillian Lohan: member of the EESC since March of 2014, appointed through the Irish Environmental Pillar and CEO of an internationally active Irish NGO. His organisation, now called Green Economy Foundation, was focused primarily on Forestry issues when Cillian was appointed as CEO in 2010 but is currently being rebranded to reflect the expansion of areas of work under Cillian's direction. Cillian is an Environmental Scientist but with a background in business, specifically working as a Business Development Director in the retail sector. He is currently the chairman of the Irish Environmental Network.
  • Mindaugas Maciulevičius is a founding member and director of the AgriCoop developing short supply chains Lithuanian Farm Quality, a Member of the EESC since 2010, Vice-President of Group III, a Board member of Lithuanian agricultural cooperative association Kooperacijos kelias, and Vice-President of European agri-cooperatives association COGECA. In his activities as a Rapporteur for the EESC, Mindaugas has issued EESC opinions on bioeconomy, climate actions by non-state actors, space strategy, sustainable food systems and Implications of climate and energy policy/agriculture forestry.