EUROMED

This page is also available in:

Forholdet mellem EU og vores naboer mod syd er en af vores prioriteter. Vores arbejde omfatter en lang række områder, herunder civilsamfundets deltagelse i den politiske og civile dialog, overgangen til demokrati, ungdomsbeskæftigelse, bæredygtig udvikling, mobilitet og immigration, handel, vedvarende energi og virksomhedsudvikling.

EØSU har beskæftiget sig med disse forhold siden 1995. Som følge af de ændringer, der skete i regionen i 2010, har vi tilpasset vores målsætning og sigter mod at:

  • støtte civilsamfundsorganisationerne i de lande, der befinder sig i en overgangsfase. En sådan støtte er især rettet mod fagforeninger og arbejdsgiverorganisationer samt kvinde-, ungdoms- og landbrugsorganisationer
  • opretholde bilaterale forbindelser med nationale økonomiske og sociale råd i regionen og arbejde mod at skabe gode betingelser for inddragelse af civilsamfundet i den politiske dialog i de sydlige partnerlande
  • udarbejde udtalelser og fælles rapporter om de største politiske udfordringer i regionen
  • afholde regelmæssige møder med EU-institutionerne og internationale organisationer for at drøfte de politikker, der vedrører civilsamfundet på tværs af regionen
  • arrangere et årligt topmøde for de økonomiske og sociale råd og lignende institutioner, hvor beslutningstagerne i de nationale regeringer og EU bliver præsenteret for de vigtigste politiske henstillinger vedrørende regionens største udfordringer.
  • Adopted on 13/07/2023 - Bureau decision date: 25/01/2023
    Reference
    NAT/891-EESC-2023
    Employers - GR I
    Spain
    Diversity Europe - GR III
    Ireland
    Plenary session number
    580
    -
    EESC opinion: Sustainable water management and climate emergency: circular and other solutions for the EU agri-food system in a future "Blue Deal"
  • Adopted on 24/01/2023 - Bureau decision date: 25/03/2021
    Reference
    REX/537-EESC-2021-01-01
    Workers - GR II
    Italy
    Plenary session number
    575
    -

    The Covid-19 pandemic is strongly affecting the Euro-Mediterranean region, creating new challenges and exacerbating pre-existing ones. The pandemic has highlighted fundamental weaknesses in institutions, economies and health systems. Civil society plays a key role in the reconstruction and resilience of the whole region.

    EESC opinion: COVID-19: The role of civil society in the reconstruction and resilience of the Euro-Mediterranean region
  • Adopted on 07/07/2021 - Bureau decision date: 23/03/2021
    Reference
    REX/540-EESC-2021-01-01
    Employers - GR I
    Spain
    EESC opinion: Renewed partnership with the Southern Neighbourhood - A new Agenda for the Mediterranean
  • Adopted on 27/04/2021 - Bureau decision date: 01/12/2020
    Reference
    INT/930-EESC-2020-01-01
    Workers - GR II
    Malta

    The Communication stresses the EU's commitment to safeguarding an online environment providing the highest possible freedom and security, for the benefit of its citizens.

    EESC opinion: Communication on cybersecurity strategy
  • Adopted on 20/02/2020 - Bureau decision date: 20/02/2020
    Reference
    REX/526-EESC-2020-01-01
    Diversity Europe - GR III
    Croatia
    Information report: Sustainable development in the Mediterranean region (information report)
  • Adopted on 11/12/2019 - Bureau decision date: 20/02/2019
    Reference
    REX/519-EESC-2019-01-01
    Employers - GR I
    Spain

    At the 2018 Euromed Summit, it was agreed that the next Information Report to be presented to the 2019 Summit of ESCs and Similar institutions will deal with the topic of the impact of digitalisation on SMEs in the Mediterranean area.

    The integration of millions of young graduates into the job market each year constitutes a major challenge for the countries of the Southern Mediterranean. Small and medium-sized companies (SMEs) play a decisive role in the fight against youth unemployment as they are important drivers of job creation and provide 80% of employment in the region.

    Information report: Digitalisation and SMEs in the Mediterranean region (information report)
  • Adopted on 20/03/2019 - Bureau decision date: 17/04/2018
    Reference
    REX/506-EESC-2018-01-01
    Workers - GR II
    Italy

    The EESC regularly produces information reports to be presented at the yearly Euromed Summit of Economic and Social Councils and Similar institutions. In 2018, based on feedback from the previous summit, the Euromed Follow-Up Committee decided to focus on the topic of education and vocational training (VET) in the Euro-Mediterranean region.

    Information report: Education and vocational training in the Euromed region (Information report)
  • Adopted on 18/10/2017 - Bureau decision date: 30/03/2017
    Reference
    REX/490-EESC-2017-01-01-EESC-2017-02357-00-02-AC-TRA
    Employers - GR I
    Spain

    The situation concerning economic, social and cultural rights is quite patchy in the Euro-Mediterranean region. Although some countries, in the wake of what has been called the Arab spring, drew up new constitutions enshrining some of these rights in legislation for the very first time, the rights have not always been respected. In certain other countries, these rights have been weakened since 2011.The aim of this information report would be to give an overview of the current situation as regards economic, social and cultural rights in the Euro-Mediterranean region, as well as pinpointing new avenues for work in the future. This report would be submitted at the Euromed Summit of Economic and Social Councils and would enable us to work together with our counterparts from the Mediterranean countries.

    EESC opinion: Economic, social and cultural rights in the Euro-Mediterranean region (own-initiative opinion)
  • Adopted on 25/01/2017 - Bureau decision date: 10/11/2016
    Reference
    REX/481-EESC-2017-01-01-EESC-2017-00045-00-00-AC-TRA
    (Italy
    EESC opinion: Participation of the Union in "PRIMA".
  • Adopted on 19/10/2016 - Bureau decision date: 21/01/2016
    Reference
    REX/460-EESC-2016-01-01
    Employers - GR I
    Greece
    (France

    This report follows the conclusion of the 2015 Euro-Mediterranean Summit of Economic and Social Councils and Similar Institutions on cooperation with third countries in promoting regular migration to the EU and will be presented at the 2016 Euromed Summit. Cooperation with countries of origin and international bodies to increase transit possibilities for regular migrants to the EU is the most effective way of combating the illicit trafficking of people and meeting the need for workers in EU countries. The aim of the information report is to define the pillars that can facilitate cooperation on regular migration and ascertain what experience has been gained from labour migration agreements with countries of origin and from the ways in which the Member States manage recruitment abroad.

    Information report: Cooperation with third countries in promoting regular migration into the EU (Information report)