This page is also available in

9.30 a.m. | Registration (and coffee)

10.00 a.m. | Opening remarks

  • Bernd Dittmann, Vice-President, Section for the Single Market, Production and Consumption (EESC)

10.15 a.m. | Keynote speeches

  • Sustainable consumption at the heart of the circular economy – Thierry Libaert, EESC rapporteur
  • The role of the European Parliament in the transition to more sustainable consumption – Pascal Durand, MEP, EP rapporteur
  • Open floor discussion

10.50 a.m. | Panel 1 – Action taken by the European Commission

  • Cooperation in the area of consumer protection, Marie-Paule Benassi, DG JUST
  • Research programme – Rossella Riggio, Eco-innovation, DG Research & Innovation
  • The environmental aspect, Pierre Henry, DG ENV
  • Open floor discussion

11.30 a.m. | Coffee Break

11.45 a.m.  | Panel 2 – The role of stakeholders

Moderator: Thierry Libaert

  • The consumer perspective, Sylvia Maurer, BEUC
  • The business perspective, Erwan Bertrand, Eurochambres
  • The NGO perspective, Laetitia Vasseur, Association Halte à l’Obsolescence Programmée (HOP)
  • The role of standardisation – Cinzia Missiroli, CEN/CENELEC
  • Open floor discussion

12.30 p.m. | Roundtable Discussion - Advances in research in sustainable consumption

  • Sustainability or repairability - Valérie Swaen, President of the LouRIM (Louvain Research Institute in Management and Organizations), UCLouvain
  • Sustainable consumption –Tim Cooper, Professor, School of Architecture Design and the Built Environment, Nottingham Trent University
  • Open floor discussion

Closing remarks – Thierry Libaert